BullGuard internet security

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Scotlarock2013, Mar 20, 2017.

  1. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    548
    In 2017 version I can't close port 135. I was not behind a modem/router and made a direct connection to the internet and ran the grc.com shieldsup test. Since Bullguard uses windows firewall I also tried blocking the port by making a rule under advanced settings in windows firewall but still port 135 remained open. I uninstalled bullguard and repeated the test using windows firewall and now no ports were open. Does anybody have this issue?
     
  2. thanhtai2009

    thanhtai2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    223
    Location:
    Vietnam
    So the new behavioral detection engine will be called as BullGuard Sentry :cool:
     
  3. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    214
    Is there an announcement about this somewhere?
     
  4. thanhtai2009

    thanhtai2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    223
    Location:
    Vietnam
    The new website is up now, you can check its new highlighted features there. I can't share detailed infos regarding brand-new version, but here is summarized:
    文件_1.jpg 文件_2.jpg
    Personally I think the Game Booster is a interesting feature after all :D
     
  5. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,024
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    They seem to have launched the new products....Info about 2018 version is live on the main page, but my product has not updated itself.
     
  6. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    When will these features be released ? As of now , no firewall , just a firewall controller for win firewall and no game boost , behavioural engine , where are all these features hiding ?
     
  7. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    214
    I downloaded a 60-day trial version from the Bullguard web site and it seems to have the new features. It is the Internet Security product and it definitely has the game boost feature. I don't know how to tell if it has the behavioral engine update. I haven't really dug into it yet. It is really heavy at the moment. I will give it a few days to settle in and see how it goes.
     
  8. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    427
    Location:
    Far East
    Do you think you can post some pictures of its FW/HIPS/network protection settings and their advanced features?

    Thanks
     
  9. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
  10. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    Firecat, I simply changed the offline download located from Bullguard170 to Bullguard180, downloaded the new version, and installed it over the current version. If you need the actual link, just PM me.
     
  11. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,024
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I got the offline download and installed it. Everything seems just fine. The behavioural engine is all new and doesn't seem to be based on NovaShield anymore. BullGuard claims it has far less false positives and improved detection rates - we'll see. The firewall seems just the same as the previous versions. The home network scanner is something very interesting though. The spamfilter is gone, but no tears shed for that.
     
  12. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    427
    Location:
    Far East
    Thanks

    According to the link you posted the FW do NOT have HIPS but just HIDS. Is a HIDS good enough without HIPS?

    Does Bullguard IS comes with SSL/HTTPS filtering, Advanced Threat Protection(ATP), protection against botnet activities etc like ESET IS?

    Do you need to turn on Windows default FW for Bullguard's FW to work?
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017
  13. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017
  14. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    238
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    mine shows as version 18.0.340.1, email and web scanning is part of a/v.
    bullguard.jpg
     
  15. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    427
    Location:
    Far East
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,006
    https://www.bullguard.com/about/release-notes
     
  17. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    238
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    didn't care much for eset. the 'missing' apps are not biggies. i also run peerblock (i miss the ip blocklist in Outpost) and winpatrol. i also have a lifetime licence for malwarbytes.
     
  18. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    I miss outpost as wll . Which Winpatrol you using , the firewall , W A R or just plain winpatrol .
    Thanks
     
  19. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    I don't get this , is there an option of where to download updates ?
     
  20. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
  21. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Nope you are not confused -- you got it right -- it's a GUI shell - not a stand alone firewall (which is more than some others-"cough cough"-EAM). The WIN FW must be enabled alongside it..
     
  22. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    238
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
    2017-09-28_23-41-23.jpg

    i have no problem with using the inbuilt win10 firewall, it's not bad. i used binisoft's windows firewall controller for a while with avast and a couple otgher a/v's but din't like them much. spoiled by outpost security suite i guess. hated kaspersky IS, tried ESET, even tried comodo, wound up with bullguard on special offer. it's past ties with outpost are gone now tho. bullguard seems OK, with a couple of helpers...
     
  23. Jerry666

    Jerry666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    Thanks for both replies .I'm still using win 7 64 , maybe the firewall is not as useful as the win 10 firewall ? I remember the good old days on the Outpost forums , funny how we both ended up with BG , me because it had the outpost firewall .
     
  24. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    I was told by Bullguard support NOT to give out download links for their software. If you are registered paid user of their products, start a chat session with support via their webpage, and they will give you a download link for IS and Premium (same install program); excellent quick support from them in my experience.
     
  25. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,024
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    It was discontinued mainly because Outpost stopped all maintenance and support operations on their firewall SDK on February 28, 2017, after Yandex took over it's operations. With no way to further develop the technology, and no team to independently develop it (BullGuard acquired the entire NovaShield team to continue it's development), and an acquistion/employee transfer out of the question, followed by Windows updates causing firewall driver BSODs - BullGuard made the decision to get rid of the Outpost firewall and use something that complements the Windows Firewall instead.
     
Loading...