Building Online Communities

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by jrmhng, Jun 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jrmhng

jrmhng Registered Member

Hi Guys,

I'm a uni student wishing to start a website with educational videos for all basic level university topics (accounting 101, statistics 101 etc type courses). I want to make these available free of charge. This is because at my uni, even though it is one of Australia's best, teaching quality is very inconsistent. Some lecturers and tutors are extremely good. Others can be extremely boring, hard to understand etc. There needs to be some kind of support for students who are falling behind especially in first year, where having to adapt to uni and the different way you have to study and learn is quite a challenge.

I post this thread becaues I also want to build a community around this website. I would like to know what makes online communities successful? What made Wilders successful? What was it at the start? How did it hit a critical mass where there was enough information and discussion that kept users coming back? How do you keep people coming back? What are some of the other challenges that Wilders had to deal with?

Can the mods and people who were here from the begining give me some pointers? Also for all Wilders members, what makes you keep coming back? What does Wilders do that is different from other forums and online communities?

Any help is much appreciated.

Cheers
    Jeremy

Last edited: Jun 18, 2008
  2. NGRhodes

NGRhodes Registered Member

I am proud to say that an online community that I started 8 years ago ( left 4 years ago) is still thriving.

I would say that the foundation of a successful community, is good management and good community spirit.