Build 9796 / Network Authentification failed

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by shcshc, Jun 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shcshc

    shcshc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,

    since I have installed Build 9796 (German version) I'm not able to enter the authentification information for using a network share. It always says: "Connection failed. Please check user and passwort".

    Sometimes all backups works fine anyhow. Sometimes not.
    I have no problems to enter the specific network share by using the windows explorer.

    When installing the previous version again (Build 9646) everything works!


    Thanks for your help,
    SHC
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello SHC,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Please check that the information about the new build has been added to your Firewall exceptions. If not, please add it and see if the issue remains. Please let us know the results.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  3. Phitar

    Phitar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I'm having similar issues trying to backup from a Vista machine to a WHS share. I always get "User name or password for the remote resource is incorrect..."
    So.... which side do I check firewall settings on? The machine running the backup (source) or the share (destination)? And what should I be looking for exactly? Any specific port?
     
  4. shcshc

    shcshc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Hi Oleg,

    I have tested several situations - the result is:

    When I try to test network authentification on a NAS I get a failure message even if the firewall (ZoneAlarm Pro) is deactivated.
    The backup afterwards works anyhow.

    When I try to test network authentification on a second Windows machine I get a positive message: Connection works.

    Of course I set write-permission for this user on my NAS.


    Thanks again for your help!
    SHC
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    SHC,

    Could you please do the following?

    Please manage a new task, browse for backup location and in the File name box type in the path using IP address, for example, \\10.1.169.68\folder\backup.tib

    See if the issue remains.

    Phitar,

    I assume we are speaking about the Home version of Acronis software.

    I proposed to add the program to the Firewall exceptions on the source computer (in Windows XP the path will be: C:\Program Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome\TrueImage.exe)

    If we are speaking about the corporate versions of Acronis True Image that allow the remote management, you should open specific ports and IP addresses in Firewall settings for remote operation:

    * UDP port: 9876
    * TCP port: 9876, if busy, choose at random
    * IPv4 multicast address: 239.255.219.45
    * IPv6 multicast address: FF05::fAA5:741E.
    * Acronis Management Console UDP port: 9877, if busy, choose at random

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  6. shcshc

    shcshc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Hi Oleg,

    at the moment I'm on a business trip. I will come back to you after my return (22th July).

    Thanks,
    SHC
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello SHC,

    Thank you for information. We will wait for the results from you.

    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.