Build 2,337. Is the mouse issue resolved?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by paulmer, Jan 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paulmer

    paulmer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Hi all,
    Has the Wireless mouse issue of the last few builds finally been addressed in 2,337.
    The one where the mouse operation is corrupt when booting from the recovery CD of the offending build.

    Wireless Intellimouse Explorer
    XP Pro SP2
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello paulmer,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Yes, this issue has been fixed in build 2337 of Acronis True Image 9.0, but for several vendors\models of wireless\USB mice only.

    I would therefore recommend you to download and install the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0 which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    Please uninstall any previously installed build by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image, prior to installing build 2337.

    Please create new Bootable Rescue CD after installing the update, boot your PC from this CD and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists with Bootable Rescue CD created using the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0 then please provide us with the following information:

    - Create Linux system information (sysinf.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    Please keep your mouse connected while creating sysinfo.txt

    - What are the exact vendor and model of your mouse?

    - Try booting with "usbmouse=off" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post (use "usbmouse=off" instead of "acpi=off noapic") and let us know the result.

    Please submit a request for technical support with the subject indicating that you want to contact Alexey Popov. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will certainly do our best in order to provide you with the solution as soon as possible.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  3. MKairys

    MKairys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    It goes without saying, but I shall say it anyway: you would save us all some time and effort if you would publish whatever information you have about which vendors and models work and which don't.
     
  4. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    I agree...my Microsoft Wireless Intelimouse Explorer still requires the F11/usbmouse=off when using the Recovery CD!

     
  5. Ramboxman

    Ramboxman Guest

    Just Tested my microsoft wireless keyboard / mouse combo still not working, Just have to live with the touchpad.
    Come on already... I been patiently waiting a fix for this. Not an impossible feat!!! Microsoft wireless mice are very popular right along with Logitech wireless products.
    Thanks, again for nothing..... Should of stayed with Ghost 2003 never any issues with that product.
     
  6. kiwi51

    kiwi51 Guest

    TI 9 2337 works OK from Rescue disk on my Microsoft Wireless Optical Desktop Receiver 2.0A with Microsoft Wireless Optical Mouse 2.0 and Microsoft Wireless Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A.

    However the receiver is plugged into the PS/2 mouse port via the green adaptor that came with the receiver.
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    For compatibility reasons, I believe anyone with a PS/2 port and the necessary USB to PS/2 adaptor should use it. I've used two different brands of wireless mouse (currently a Logitech Cordless Click! Plus) in this sort of configuration and have never had a problem with any build of TI 7, 8 or 9.

    Regards
     
  8. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Sorry, I am keeping mine on USB. I like TI a lot...I did, in fact, buy it. But, I must say that I have never spent this much time on upgrades and workarounds on any software I bought and that includes Windows.


     
  9. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi MPSAN,

    Would you mind explaining why?

    Regards
     
  10. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Well...I just have it in the USB slot and I see no reason to switch to PS2 just for rescue disk to work. Everything else is OK and even TI was good as of 2277 then they broke it.

    IF I need the CD I can add the usbmouse=off.

     
  11. matrixmuncher

    matrixmuncher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Blue Mountains "God's Country" Australia
    My wireless mouse (HP media centre) goes spastic when I fire up TI 9 2337 then after awhile goes back to normal. I am using an additional mouse in a USB slot until the wireless one recovers from its fit. Strange product.o_O What hardware is included in the fix??:thumbd:
     
  12. Hahaiah

    Hahaiah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Posts:
    31
    Same problem here .... as usual ... 2337

    MSI Notebook with a Microsoft USB Wireless Laptop Mouse.

    Last working version was Corp WS v8 1196 for this machine. Sad this is still an issue for so many people ...

    Like some of the others, I have better things to do than screw around with this and wonder if the updates will include any other new surprises.

    A DETAILED CHANGE LOG would be welcome

    Don't bother asking for a log or whatever, I'm not messing with it anymore
     
  13. J Terry

    J Terry Guest

    Please Acronis, how long till this issue is fixed for IntelliMouse Explorer 4 !?

    Thank you for your time
     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  15. Ozmaniac

    Ozmaniac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Posts:
    254
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I have the 'mouse only moves up and down' problem when booting from the rescue CD. My mouse is a Logitech Cordless Optical. I don't often boot from the CD so it's manageable, but there have been enough reports (and logs sent) of the problem that surely it could have been fixed by now (build 2337).:cool:
     
  16. Ciderman

    Ciderman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    This links goes to version 8.0! NOT 9.0!! I also logged in to check for updates but it says no updates available! SO...! I can't get past the screen where I can type archive information, because I can't reach the 'Next' button! My mouse only moves up and down! F****** unbelieveable!!:thumbd: :mad:
     
  17. Aktt

    Aktt Guest

    Use Alt-N to get past the comments section
     
  18. schwab

    schwab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Ridiculous ~Snip~ Personal attacks are against the TOS on these forums and will be removed.[/URL]

    Regards.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 28, 2006
  19. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hopefully most users will read my statement on "compatibility" in Post #7 in the context of booting into TI's Linux based rescue environment.

    Regards
     
  20. jaycup

    jaycup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Posts:
    23
    I don't have the latest build but my software is only weeks old and for the past two days I have struggled to get the mouse function to work in the 'rescue-mode' in the end I switched to an PS2 adapter and this worked but my next problem and still the current one, is that TI does not open my saved back-ups which are on my (new) Western Digital external drive. It shows the drive and the folder but won't access the 'images'. This is the last straw for me . I have always used Drive Image (Powerquest) and more recently Norton Ghost and never had any of the problems mentioned in this 'post'. I will write to the two Computer Magazines who recommended this software and make them aware of the 'problems' I am also copying some of the responses from Acronis and sending these to Amazon (UK) and requesting a full refund on the basis that the software is not 'fit for the purpose' under UK Consumer Law this should qualify me for a full refund. It is most disappointing as I like using the program and the interface and the boot-up into the rescue mode is much more friendly than my previous programs but I don't like the mouse problem (I see that the latest sersion fixes this, but it should never have happened) and most of all I bought my external hard drive specifically for backing up and if Acronis will not interface with my drive there is no point in running it. It would seem that it is not only Microsoft who puts software on to the marketplace for final 'testing' by the consumer!!.
     
  21. schwab

    schwab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    a piece of crap o_O
     
  22. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jaycup,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are really sorry that you are displeased with the work of Acronis software. However, we would highly appreciate if you will provide us with the more detailed information on the problem and give us a few days to investigate it. We will certainly do our best in order to provide you with the most suitable solution as soon as possible.

    First of all, please download and install the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0 which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    You can find the full version name and build number by going to the Help -> About... menu in the main program window.

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    Please uninstall any previously installed build by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image, prior to installing build 2337.

    Please create new Bootable Rescue CD after installing the update, boot your PC from this CD and see if any of the problems you reported still persists.

    If your USB mouse still can not be recognized properly then please create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post (please keep your USB mouse connected while creating Linux system information).

    If you still can not "open" the backups residing on your external hard drive then please provide us with the following information:

    - Create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    Please keep your external hard drive connected while creating Acronis Report;

    - What exactly do you mean when saying that "TI does not open my saved back-ups"?

    - Describe the way you try to "open" your backups in more detail;

    - Let us know the exact model and connection type of your external hard drive;

    - Have you received any error messages? What exact error messages? When exactly have you received them?

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the information about your purchase of Acronis software (order number, e-mail, where did you purchase our product, etc.) and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  23. jaycup

    jaycup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Posts:
    23
    I held off from taking the action I mentioned previously in the hope that the new build 2337 would cure the problem, alas, it does not. My mouse is a Microsoft Intellipoint (USB)model. Why don'y you publish a list of the models which work or the models which don't work. I cannot understand your reluctance in this matter. Would someone be so kind as to give me a list of the 'keystrokes' that can be used when the mouse is 'frozen' this would be of some help. I still feel strongly that Acronis are culpable for selling software with such a basic flaw.
     
  24. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Jaycup,


    Have a read of this previous thread titled <How do I navigate with only keyboard>.

    Regards
     
  25. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Mine works with the rescue CD but I have to hit F11 and add usbmouse=off to the command line. Then it works.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.