Bugs in exclusions

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by pmi, Sep 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pmi

    pmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Hi.

    These are some bugs I found:

    1. Updated or not?
    The GUI is showing that NOD is updated, but the taskbar info is not updated.

    2. The exlusions are still not working:
    -cannot add a drive to exclusions; if I use *.*, the drive is added, but the exlusions is not working on folders.
    -adding a folder to exlusions, the subfolders are still scanned.
    -cannot add a non-existing drive like cd/dvd or usb.
    -I can duplicate some entries, but they are cleaned at a refresh (close/open)
    -I had a bug with selections: selecting F: drive for editing NOD opened E: drive, but after reboot I cannot reproduce.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hello

    You can't be updated with v 2478 . Try to manually update again.
    If you can't update it to the latest 2515 , reinstall ESS beta with these instructions:


    A few comments because of wrong things I find in your screenshot.
    If you add exlucions like this -> D:\*.* , this means that ESS won't scan any file that is in the main D directory , but this doesn't count the folders , just the files . Basically *.* means any file with any extenstion

    You should add D:\ as an exclusion to make it work

    Like the above ...

    If you add exlucions like C:\Program files\*.* , this means that ESS won't scan any file that is in the Program files directory , but this doesn't count the folders , just the files .

    You should add C:\Program files\ as an exclusion to make it work
     
  3. pmi

    pmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Sorry, I was a little bit dissapointed that beta2 is still not working ok and I hadn't check what is happening.

    1. The GUI was showing that it is updated ok today (09.09.07), but the version is still the old one. Now it is ok, after reboot.
    2. The problem is that NOD is filling the path with *.* (or I have to do it) when I try to add a drive or folder, so I thought that this is the standard behaviour now. I cannot add the path without *.* because I get that error. I hope it is clear now.
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Perhaps they will check it and correct in future editions or this is some kind of feauture , e.g. you cannot exclude the whole directory (e.g. the whole G:\)

    Do you get errors if you try to exclude the "Program files" with *.*
    e.g. exclude only C:\Program files\ ?
     
  5. pmi

    pmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    I get no errors when adding folders because NOD is adding *.* every time. And I can add ? after a folder, but it is not working after a drive.

    How is this feature working for you? Do you have some issues?
     
  6. OMEGA_RAZER

    OMEGA_RAZER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    94
    Location:
    24.24.2.2147
    another thing I noticed, at least for me, is that if I put in just *.* and nothing else ESS crashes completely and is no longer running... does this happen to anyone else?
     
  7. kC_

    kC_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    452
    crashes happen often when trying to add exclusions here, forced to reboot, then ess crashes on startup, forced to uninstal it.
     
  8. pmi

    pmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    I have another problem, with the file monitor: when I dissable it, after some time it is re-activating by itself, and I can see that by the speed of file browsing, but the status is still dissabled. I don't have a way to duplicate it, but seems to be related to the signature update.

    I have just one question: is there going to be a refresh release of beta2, with some of these bugs fixed? When?

    @HiTech_boy : how is the Exlusion feature working for you? Can you reproduce some of my issues? You gave me some advices on how to make it work. Are you talking from your experience with beta2? I'm asking you because I already made a clean install of xp and beta2 (another partition), but I have the same problems and I cannot use your advices because NOD doesn't let me.
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Just link in your case .

    Well , today I played for a while with the exclusions (generally I exclude anything and that's why I haven't tried it before) . The onliest difference is that I get no errors if I try to exclude a whole drive (e.g. the whole F:\ or the whole G:\) . It simply works here .

    I found a way to exclude even the subfolders.

    If you press the Browse button and try to browse for the folders and then click OK (e.g. you want to exclude C:\Program files) it will appear as C:\Program files\*.* which means the program won't scan any files in the Program files directory but this doesn't count the subfolders.

    But ... E.g. If want to exclude the whole C:\Program files\ , all files in it , all sub-files and sub-folder (generally everything in Program files) and if you manually edit the exclusion like that , it will work .
    C:\Program files\*

    Just one star symbol and all files/folders/sub-stuff is excluded . It works for me perfectly.I tested with the manual scan and with the real time protection with eicar test files :thumb:
     
  10. pmi

    pmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Well, I think I know why adding a drive works for you: after adding a drive for the first time, using *.* added manually, and you remove the entry, then NOD will remember this and you can add that drive again anytime, but NOD will automatically fill the path with *.* . Can you add the letter for a USB drive that is not connected yet?
    Your hint is working, but the bug is still there...
     
  11. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Well , I haven't tried this because:
    - I think anyone would want any USB drive that is connecting to be scanned
    - I have a few removable drive and simply additing a letter (example E:\ or G:\) won't make sense because once my USB flash 1 is E:\ , next time it can be G:\ because USB flash 2 has already connected


    and btw , have a look at your screenshots . If you attempted to add F:\ as exclusion and you got error that path is invalid (...) it is normal message . If for some reason the files couldn't be accessed on that drive - normal (no exclusions for drive phantom :D)


    Glad to read it is OK for you but why do you think it is a bug , it can be a feauture . Additing *.* is not a bug (not something wrong) , it is simply working that way . They may wish to change it because it seems it is confusing some users :thumb:
     
  12. pmi

    pmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Totally agree with you, but this is still a beta testing and we have to test all the possible scenarios. Also, with the sizes/prices that the sticks are having now, one can use a stick (or 2.5/3.5 external drive) also for archive, so there is no need to scan a path or drive all the time, because the files in that folder are already safe (archive).

    More reasons to be able to add E:\, G:\, H:\ and so on, just in case the user will have that upper letter.

    Well, I have those drives in my system, they are real 3.5 HDD, from C:\ to F:\. So I should be able to add them to exclusions. G:\ is the dvd, with no disk in it. In NOD 2.7 I can add all the letters I want, with scanning options, no problem. So it should work here too. I don't understand how a basic feature like this got lost.

    At this moment it is a bug. Take a look at v.2.7 and then at v.3 and you will see that the new version lost all the options, but is still saying that we can exclude paths and folders (help file). And is also a bug because *.* does not exclude subfolders.
     
  13. pmi

    pmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    The issues are still present in RC1 and it got worse: after playing with the stars and folders, I managed to crush the "advanced setup". I can use all the options in the GUI except advanced setup.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.