Bug in Remote Install EA/ESS V3/V4

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by Megachip, Mar 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Megachip

    Megachip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Posts:
    243
    1. Impossible to set "Prompt for restart"
    Neither /prompt nor REBOOTPROMPT="" (tried with /qb! and /passive)
    If NODv2 was installed, client automaticly reboots after upgrade without user notification

    2. Bug in UI when setting custom update server via cfgedit. Updateserver works, bit isn't shown anywhere in interface. Submitted to eset, but no reply.

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2009
  2. Megachip

    Megachip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Posts:
    243
    Did anybody known a workaround or had an idea how to solve the problem?

    Regards
     
  3. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    For the first issue, I believe msiexec by design will automatically accept a reboot if prompted by the installation package because the /qb! and /passive options were designed so that no user interaction is possible.

    Also, the switch to prompt for reboot is /promptrestart, not /prompt. So maybe what I just said a second ago was complete crap and you just got the switch name wrong.

    I've also seen the second issue, but it doesn't seem to break anything client-side so I haven't really bothered looking in to it.
     
  4. Megachip

    Megachip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Posts:
    243
    Fixed in lastest build, seems that eset fixed bugs, without saying that they are there ;)

    @Smacky
    Sorry, used promptrestart, lost by copy and paste

    /quiet is designed for no useraction...

    used options from msdn

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.