Bug fixed?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by Get, Apr 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Get

    Get Guest

    Since the question seems to be overlooked in the "grand" topic here it is again:
    Is this issue fixed in the Beta?
     
  2. Get

    Get Guest

    Anyone..?:doubt:
     
  3. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Can't confirm.
    Sorry
     
  4. pepim

    pepim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Well I'm really quite suprised. I thought this issue would have been resolved in this version ... and now nobody from Eset has an answer? o_O
     
  5. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    You expect a reply about something like this in an limited supported (first) beta-version?
     
  6. Get

    Get Guest

    The bug would be fixed in 3.0 (which is VERY late), so it's a legitimate question which can be answered with a simple "Yes" or "No", so yes I expect an answer :).
     
  7. oldshep

    oldshep Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Posts:
    139
    Interesting. I use CCleaner between security app changes so I was wondering if I might have inadvertently deleted this registry entry. Nod32 has never found anything on my machine so I've never used the quarantine function.

    I did a search thru the CCleaner backup files on "nod" and "eset" and found nothing. But I thought I would check directly in the registry. Could someone provide the name and location of the key?

    Thanks,
    Oldshep
     
  8. Get

    Get Guest

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Eset\Nod\CurrentVersion\Common]
    "QuarantineDirectory"="C:\\Program Files\\Eset\\infected"

    :)
     
  9. oldshep

    oldshep Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Posts:
    139
    Get,
    Thanks for the info. This registry entry is still in place on my machine after 5 or so registry clean ups. So I guess we can say that at least CCleaner doesn't delete it on a registry integrity scan. I created the folder "infected" anyway so as to prevent future problems.

    Thanks again,
    Oldshep
     
  10. Get

    Get Guest

    You're welcome :).
     
  11. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    It seems you and I have very different opinions about beta software and release dates... :D

    BTW: why don't you install the beta and report here if it is fixed or not... o_O
     
  12. Get

    Get Guest

    With 3.0 being a totally new version it's not so strange to think this bug isn't present in the first beta. I don't test the beta, but want to know. That's why I ask. Life can be so simple at times :).
     
  13. Get

    Get Guest

    Being p***ed off and leaning towards uninstalling and giving my 1 3/4 year licence as a present to someone, because not getting a simple 2- or 3-letter answer tested it myself and yes the bug isn't present anymore. Hooray.:cautious:
     
  14. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    ESS beta does not currently store the quarantine folder location in the registry so there's no chance a registry cleaner would accidentally delete that key.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.