BufferZone free version

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by overangry, Jun 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Too bad is doesn't support 64bit. I trialed this software a year ago and while I liked the clean interface, I had some serious slowdown issues surfing the net. I would give it another shot if it supported 64.

    Ice
     
  2. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    I purchased a license with BZ when they first came out, and i never received a key or any software from them. I sent several inmates to them, and no one replied. I hope their support is much better now.
     
  3. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    945
    Hi All

    On the basis of this thread I downloaded BufferZone Pro.

    My comments are as follows:

    1) Its a pale shadow of the former BufferZone AND ON MY MACHINE does not play well with Sandboxie. The whole system froze.

    2) BZ is built round IE8. ie you can only surf bank sites with IE8

    Sandboxie in this latter respect is much more flexible and equal to all browsers

    NOT IMPRESSED

    Terry
     
  4. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,545
    I like the Privacy Zone feature of BZ.
    Do you guys know any program that does the same also for FREE?
     
  5. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Frankiln,

    Old bugger did you drag and drop a picture or did you manage to drag FF into the panel?

    :thumb:
     
  6. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
     
  7. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Dragged and dropped FF that's pinned to the start menu into the BZ storage folder alongside the BZ C drive and on double clicking the FF icon it started via BZ.

    XP VM and I've deleted changes to that VM but I'm pretty sure I did something like the above?
     
  8. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Brilliant: it automatically sandboxes anaything in the virtual folder :thumb:

    On second thoughts one can also download chrome with IE8 and install it in bufferzone. This feature (installed programs) also works in the free version.

    Question: I think to recall that theIE8 icon is dsplayed default, how did you remove that?

    Regards Kees
     
  9. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    FF is set as default browser and I didn't manipulate any icons?
     
  10. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Okay,

    You have IE8 (or other version) installed?

    Thx
     
  11. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    XP VM, IE 6 which I am about to fire up and check again.
     
  12. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    OKie dokie. drag and drop the FF start menu icon to inside the BZ C drive, not alongside and FF is starting via BZ.

    Now to download and run one of those microjoin exploits and see how it goes, give me 5 to 10 mins.
     
  13. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Dragged and dropped the microjoin exploit 8b5aad.exe and it started via BZ with all the other exploits being contained as well.

    OK that's enough from me and from my brief testings I will say that Bufferzone is a decent app.

    One.JPG

    Two.JPG
     
  14. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    3,087
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen

    It was an answer, not an opinion. :rolleyes:
     
  15. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Running my brief test with it on Win7 32 machine, it has a problem with a product called Citrix. Which allows you to connect to a remote LAN. The Bufferzone just freezes. I tried using IE8 and FF with the Citrix client in the zone. If I get some time I will post on their site.

    @Franklin, thanks for the tip with FF. I use it more frequently than IE.

    Ice
     
  16. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Ice,

    Why would you run Citrix in the zone. Everything you access with Citrix is executing on the lan server, not on your PC. The (lean) browser accessed through citrix problably runs as limited and most system/network managers wil have group policy extra's which harden the browser.

    Regards Kees
     
  17. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I can't even get my laptop to boot. It hangs past the login for windows. The only thing I have running is OA++. Oh well sounds like a nice program. I'm not willing to give up OA for it though. I'm trying out Sandboxie at the moment.
     
  18. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Kees your absolutely correct. However, I'm an old lazy system/programmer and would like everything to work right out of the box. Since my browser session is in the zone, I connect to the url for the citrix server connection. I see BZ trying in vain to secure all the api's but it freezes after about 1min. If I can add an exclusion url to BZ, so it will not put the citrix url into the zone, I would be ok. Maybe the Pro version has that feature. I know other competing similar products can handle Citrix, just not this one.

    Ice
     
  19. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294
    For WIW,

    I'm running Bufferzone Pro with Defensewall with no issues at all.
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    very good protection i just tested againts 20 nasty malware and it was very good at removing them;) but it doesnt have password protection or USB protectiono_O
     
  21. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294
  22. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks;) does it require restart to test it?
     
  23. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,294
    Dont remember,one way to find out though :D
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks
     
  25. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Silly question but where is the virtualized C drive in BZ?

    thanks
    Ice
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.