BSOD when mounting TrueCrypt volume

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by mumm, Jan 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mumm

    mumm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    I just want to report on my findings...

    NOD v5 business edition* causes blue screens (BSODs) on my Win7 64-bit PC whenever I try to mount a TrueCrypt 7.1 volume. This happens 90% of the time. About 1 in 10 times I can actually mount the volume.

    I tried many possible solutions, but only after uninstalling NOD did the BSODs go away. I'm now happily running on Microsoft Antivirus with no problems. No doubt my company is going to frown about that.

    The funny thing is I have the exact same PC setup at work, and did not experience the issue (yet). Then again, I did not mount a TrueCrypt volume more than once there.

    Other solutions tried (unsuccessfully):

    * Exclude S:\ drive from NOD32 scans. BSODs continue.
    * Create new container on Win7 and copy data over. BSODs continue.
    * Disable verifier.exe. See http://kladde.org/~meid/blog/index.php/bluescreen-with-truecrypt-on-mounting-container/. Did not help at all. BSODs continue.
    * Disable NOD antivirus. BSODs continue.
    * Run CCleaner. Initially it seemed to work. I could mount two TC volumes at the same time! But BSODs returned the next day.
    * Ran a full disk scan. A total waste of time. BSODs continue.
    * Googled around a lot, but no definate solutions. BSODs continue.
    * Uninstalled NOD. No more BSODs.

    If someone can provide me with a working NOD solution, I'll reinstall NOD.

    * Edit: sorry, it was NOT the business edition, as it does not exist yet. I only thought it was. Thanks for pointing it out, Marcos.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2012
  2. GreenWhite

    GreenWhite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    110
    This bug has been for ages.

    Try this, open truecrypt, goto settings, then preference, and tick the "mount as removable media" option.

    Should work.
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    There's no v5 Business Edition available yet. Did you mean v. 4.2.7x ? V5 should have the TrueCrypt issue fixed.
     
  4. mumm

    mumm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    @greenwhite: thanks, but I tried that already. In fact, I always mount my truecrypt volumes as removable media, as it makes it stand out in my long list of drives.

    @marcos: You seem to be right! I certainly downloaded version 5, because the interface is completely different from 4, but when I went to go look for it again in the download section, I couldn't find it. Perhaps I downloaded the home edition by accident. To make doubly sure, I had a look at NOD on my work PC, and althought it IS v5, it does not specifically say that it is the business edition.

    Either way, it is clear that v5 does NOT have the truecrypt issue fixed. :-( I never had any truecrypt issues with v4, though, so I guess I'll switch back to that.
     
  5. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    What version of v5 do you have running? It should be fixed in 5.0.95.
     
  6. GreenWhite

    GreenWhite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    110


    Likewise, v4 ran fine with truecrypt but v5 got problems. The workaround i'd posted, worked for me though.
     
  7. mumm

    mumm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    I was on 5.0.95.
     
  8. FicmanS

    FicmanS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Indiana
    No issues here with that same version, Win64 bit
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.