BSOD - System crash after Universal Restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by djl, Jul 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. djl

    djl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Hi! :)

    Unfortunatly I am facing a problem with acronis true image and universal restore.

    I made a backup on a desktop PC (Win XP Pro, IDE) and had to move the entire OS to a notebook (IDE). In order to do this I restored the complete image with Acronis Boot CD and activated UNiversal Restore.

    But after the restore the Windows fails to load and shows only the blue screen.

    What can I do to repair the system?

    Regards,
    djl
     
  2. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    The system cannot work because the desktop and the laptop have different architectures and hardware (CPU, Peripherals, etc.).

    The chance is to make a repair-installation with the original Windows-CD.
    Note: you must have for both devices a single licence of Win. Or do you have a company-licence?

    BTW:
    What is your intention to restore a desktop system to a Laptop?
     
  3. djl

    djl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,

    I know there is ussually no way to move a whole OS Installation to another PC. But as I just wrote, Universal Restore is the plugin that enables such an action. That is its purpose.

    Therefore I am pretty suprised, that I get an BSOD after the restore.

    The Notebook is broken and since we have a company licence, we want to continue working on another PC.
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    This worked for me (UR not needed) but in the other direction - Laptop to Desktop. On your desktop, before you make the Image, change the Display Adapter to Standard VGA and then make the Image.

    Now, with the True Image Rescue CD, restore that Image to the Laptop. After the restore finishes and you boot the laptop for the first time, the OS will go through a whole slew of "Found New Hardware" popups. Let it finish. Afterwards, go into Device Manager and update the drivers that are needed for the laptop. The Display Adapter will be one of them.
     
  5. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    May be...
    I have never got a flawless 'universal restore' from desktop to laptop.
    Too many differences: e.g. SSE, chipset, core (double, quad), etc.)

    My experiences do not say that it is impossible.
    Good luck.
     
  6. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Follow DwnNDrty's advice.

    Another approach is to boot into SAFE mode (press F8 at the start of booting). In SAFE mode, only primitive drivers are loaded, and it may allow you to see what is causing the BSOD and replace that driver.

    You can also do an "upgrade in place" for Windows XP to force a new HAL to be created for the new hardware. This requires a standard Windows XP installation CD. Google the term to get full instructions from Microsoft. During an "upgrade in place" the installed programs and your data are not deleted, so this achieves the goal of the UR when that fails.
     
  7. zedd

    zedd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Posts:
    13
    Could you please give some more details. There is more than one possible reason for a blue screen. What is written there? Any STOP code like 0x0000007B or a message like INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE ?
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello djl,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Corporate Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please note that you should get the window of the Restore Wizard which allows you to select "Use Acronis Universal Restore" or "Do not use Acronis Universal Restore" when you boot your computer from Acronis True Image Bootable CD created with Acronis Universal Restore plug-in installed (check the chapter "Using Acronis Universal Restore" of the respective Acronis True Image User's Guide for details).

    Please make sure that if you are choosing custom drivers during the restore procedure, the drivers you present are correct for the target machine.

    Could you please clarify, were there any error messages during the restore process? Please also clarify, what setup was the operation performed with? Where was the archive stored at? Was the destination drive in the position it's supposed to boot? Please also answer zedd's question.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.