BSOD installing Vista SP1

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Ashanta, Nov 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    687
    Location:
    Europe
    Hi

    I get a blue screen error message while installing Vista SP1. During this installation, as you know, a few restart are required. After the first reboot, my laptop shut down unexpectedly.

    BSOD critical service failed 0x0000005A

    I tried Repair Computer at boot but it can't repair.
    I booted up with F8 it failed with the following error message :

    StartupRepair V2
    6.0.6000.16386.6.0.6001.18000
    bad driver wrp repair


    Repaired computer with a WinRe boot cd.

    I can't start Vista Business on safe mode neither normal mode.

    I backed up all my datas. I have Ubuntu, UBCD v5, and Hirens Boot CD.

    Today, I was loading Ubuntu, Vista Repair CD and Hirens Boot CD and I get suddenly a few shut down. A that moment, I could'nt even load any Live CD, and moreover, F8 Repair Computer failed. At the end, I got a new BSOD with this error message :

    STOP: C000021A (Fatal System Error)
    The initial session proces or system precess terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0X00000000
    (0XC0000001 0X0010034C)


    I tried to fix my MBR with :

    bootrec.exe /fixmbr
    bootrec.exe /fixboot

    and rebuild my MBR with :

    bcdedit.exe /export c:\BCD_Backup
    C:
    cd boot
    attrib bcd -s -h -r
    ren c:\boot\bcd bcd.old
    bootrec.exe /RebuildBcd

    but nothing changed.

    Fortunately, a few hours ago, I passed loading Hiren Boot CD, that's why I'm here.

    This new issue (shut down unexpectedly) need to fixed before I reinstall Vista Business.

    I need help for my MBR. I have MBRfix and MBR Utility and DiskGenius.

    DiskGenius detected 10 errors scanning the surface of my HDD. It repaired 8 of them, and 2 bad track disk are unrepaired. For now, I'm checking with HDTune, the disk surface.

    I suspect that my Bios is corrupted by malware, not sure but it could be.

    Thanks for help me
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    get a new drive
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,711
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    That was my thought too.

    Ashanta, can you run the HD Manufacturer's diagnostic disk on the HD.
     
  4. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    734
    Let us know how this goes...does sound like a drive issue. I use SpinRite to do exhaustive disk scans and repairs.
     
  5. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    687
    Location:
    Europe
    Unfortunately, my laptop shut down unexpectedly during the scan.

    I tried with others HD programs for repairing, it shut down during the scan. Hopely, this not occur with Mini Xp from Hirens Boot Cd.

    Maybe because when boot up, I have NTLDR missing. I formatted my HDD, that's all. I didn"t rebuild MBR.
     
  6. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    687
    Location:
    Europe
    I don't have such program. I don't think it's on the HB Cd. Maybe with UltimateBoot. Yes, I thinks it's a drive issue. I even reset my Bios to the default, but nothing change. I don't know what to do. It's a risk to reinstall Vista as the computer can shut down from one moment to another.
     
  7. claykin

    claykin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    132
    www.grc.com

    $90. Worth it. They will refund your $ if you are not satisfied.
     
  8. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,689
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, but you can buy a new hard drive for that. :D

    I would run a memtest too just in case. Bad RAM can corrupt a drive, though it is still most likely a bad drive.
     
  9. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    687
    Location:
    Europe
    I could fix errors sectors with HDD Regenerator.

    I formatted my HDD on a low level format.

    I create one partition for drive C:

    On every boot, I got 'NTLDR is missing'.

    PS: I've not yet installed any OS
     
  10. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
    Dude, the disk is toasted, get a new one.
     
  11. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    687
    Location:
    Europe
    Thanks to HDD Regenerator and Spinrite at the end, I could save my HDD.

    I reinstalled Vista and all is working for now.
     
  12. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    734
    Awesome...good news...having used SpinRite myself many times in the past I am glad to see it helped (even if partially) in this case.
     
  13. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    687
    Location:
    Europe
    Spinrite is more fast in fix those bad clusters than HDD Regenerator.

    It takes 3 hours for Spinrite to repair bad sectors versus 7 hours with HDD Regenerator. That's the main difference !

    Thanks Napoleon for your usefull advise ! :thumb:
     
  14. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,314
    Location:
    France
    I depends on the way you use them. If you perform a fast scan with HDD Regen 2011, then ask it to only correct the damaged areas, it very fast.
     
  15. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    734
    I'll check out that tool (HDD Regenerator)....never used it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.