BSOD installing Vista SP1

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Ashanta, Nov 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    Hi

    I get a blue screen error message while installing Vista SP1. During this installation, as you know, a few restart are required. After the first reboot, my laptop shut down unexpectedly.

    BSOD critical service failed 0x0000005A

    I tried Repair Computer at boot but it can't repair.
    I booted up with F8 it failed with the following error message :

    StartupRepair V2
    6.0.6000.16386.6.0.6001.18000
    bad driver wrp repair


    Repaired computer with a WinRe boot cd.

    I can't start Vista Business on safe mode neither normal mode.

    I backed up all my datas. I have Ubuntu, UBCD v5, and Hirens Boot CD.

    Today, I was loading Ubuntu, Vista Repair CD and Hirens Boot CD and I get suddenly a few shut down. A that moment, I could'nt even load any Live CD, and moreover, F8 Repair Computer failed. At the end, I got a new BSOD with this error message :

    STOP: C000021A (Fatal System Error)
    The initial session proces or system precess terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0X00000000
    (0XC0000001 0X0010034C)


    I tried to fix my MBR with :

    bootrec.exe /fixmbr
    bootrec.exe /fixboot

    and rebuild my MBR with :

    bcdedit.exe /export c:\BCD_Backup
    C:
    cd boot
    attrib bcd -s -h -r
    ren c:\boot\bcd bcd.old
    bootrec.exe /RebuildBcd

    but nothing changed.

    Fortunately, a few hours ago, I passed loading Hiren Boot CD, that's why I'm here.

    This new issue (shut down unexpectedly) need to fixed before I reinstall Vista Business.

    I need help for my MBR. I have MBRfix and MBR Utility and DiskGenius.

    DiskGenius detected 10 errors scanning the surface of my HDD. It repaired 8 of them, and 2 bad track disk are unrepaired. For now, I'm checking with HDTune, the disk surface.

    I suspect that my Bios is corrupted by malware, not sure but it could be.

    Thanks for help me
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    get a new drive
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    That was my thought too.

    Ashanta, can you run the HD Manufacturer's diagnostic disk on the HD.
     
  4. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Let us know how this goes...does sound like a drive issue. I use SpinRite to do exhaustive disk scans and repairs.
     
  5. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    Unfortunately, my laptop shut down unexpectedly during the scan.

    I tried with others HD programs for repairing, it shut down during the scan. Hopely, this not occur with Mini Xp from Hirens Boot Cd.

    Maybe because when boot up, I have NTLDR missing. I formatted my HDD, that's all. I didn"t rebuild MBR.
     
  6. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    I don't have such program. I don't think it's on the HB Cd. Maybe with UltimateBoot. Yes, I thinks it's a drive issue. I even reset my Bios to the default, but nothing change. I don't know what to do. It's a risk to reinstall Vista as the computer can shut down from one moment to another.
     
  7. claykin

    claykin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    132
    www.grc.com

    $90. Worth it. They will refund your $ if you are not satisfied.
     
  8. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, but you can buy a new hard drive for that. :D

    I would run a memtest too just in case. Bad RAM can corrupt a drive, though it is still most likely a bad drive.
     
  9. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    I could fix errors sectors with HDD Regenerator.

    I formatted my HDD on a low level format.

    I create one partition for drive C:

    On every boot, I got 'NTLDR is missing'.

    PS: I've not yet installed any OS
     
  10. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
    Dude, the disk is toasted, get a new one.
     
  11. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    Thanks to HDD Regenerator and Spinrite at the end, I could save my HDD.

    I reinstalled Vista and all is working for now.
     
  12. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Awesome...good news...having used SpinRite myself many times in the past I am glad to see it helped (even if partially) in this case.
     
  13. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    Spinrite is more fast in fix those bad clusters than HDD Regenerator.

    It takes 3 hours for Spinrite to repair bad sectors versus 7 hours with HDD Regenerator. That's the main difference !

    Thanks Napoleon for your usefull advise ! :thumb:
     
  14. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    I depends on the way you use them. If you perform a fast scan with HDD Regen 2011, then ask it to only correct the damaged areas, it very fast.
     
  15. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    I'll check out that tool (HDD Regenerator)....never used it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.