browser not working - not sure it's nod32

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by jnl, Oct 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jnl

    jnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    hi all...

    i have nod32 av and it works great. recently i changed my ISP. now, no browser can connect to the internet (Firefox, IE, Safari all fail). I can send messages with skype, and network sharing shows I'm connect to the internet, but all browsers fail. i can't get to the router ip (192.168.1.1). that gives me a 404.
    if i change back to my old ISP, everything works fine. i have another laptop that works great (all browsers work fine) with my new ISP and the old ISP. so, trying to narrow down the differences between the 2 laptops. on my old laptop, i'm not running nod32. so, i thought that nod32 could be the problem.

    i doubt an AV program could be the issue, but thought i'd ask the group here to verify.

    thanks
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Did you have another AV installed before? If not, maybe you could try uninstalling EAV to see if the problem goes away. Then run "netsh winsock reset", restart the computer and reinstall EAV.
     
  3. junkanoo

    junkanoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    I was having similar problems and I used IE Diagnose connection problems.... it suggested I reset winsock which I did, but it also said there's a problem with LSP from NOD32... is it okay to reset that, too?
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    ESET NOD32 Antivirus does not register as an LSP. Did you have v2 installed before? Please try resetting winsock (e.g. by running "netsh winsock reset").
     
  5. junkanoo

    junkanoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    I am using v2.7... I think I had problems installing 3.0 in the past but will try upgrading again right now. I will reset winsock.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.