Browser lag

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by DavidCo, Dec 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    I'm using WSA (AV) V8.0.4.42 and am seeing some serious lag in both FF & IE.
    It is severe enough to stop the browser, just stops.
    IE9 complains about the 'add-on' delay (2 secs)
    This may not seem a lot but if it is always happening when I switch tabs/pages?

    What sort of delay is noticed by others?
    I havn't disabled anything yet to test and would uninstall to try without if need be.

    Vista HP 32bit. E8500, 4GB ram, 500MB graphics.

    Cheers
     
  2. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
    I have been complaining about this for about a month without response. I have created a support ticket and support is not able to help. I keep telling support that the problem lies with Webroot, not my system. I am using a very light system, using Webroot as my only real-time security program. This problem does not occur with other antivirus programs.
    See: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2310662&postcount=5
     
  3. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,092
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    When i use WSA with Wifi and open new tabs and change tabs i tend to have problems. Yesterday i went off Wifi and plugged the Cable in and have no problems with the tabs or slowdown.
     
  4. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    I'm pretty sure it's WSA as follows

    I have 2 machines 1 PC & 1 Mac. PC has issues Mac does not. I can have issues on the PC - look at the Mac & no issues.
    I'm on a rock solid line 32Mb (fibre) all cabled, no wireless.
    I set 1 browser to use the router as 'home page' and use the 2nd browser. When problems occur I launch browser 1 and check the router data. All ok.

    It's a simple test but shows that it is the browser connected to the web with WSA firing on all cylinders
     
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    odd i see zero additional lag with it. though i have a 100Mb down and 50up connection off fiber so maybe why but i have not had anyone call me to complain either. not saying at all it is not wsa slowing you down just it seems to not do this for everyone.
     
  6. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    It hasn't always been like this, but I can't remember/pin down any date etc.
    I like WSA and PrevX before it - I'm in my 3rd year so to speak.

    'tis very difficult when you are in a very small minority, almost impossible to solve when you cannot predict when it's going to happen badly enough to use remote.
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    This could be related to the new web filtering extensions. Could you try disabling them in the browser and restart it to see if that corrects it?

    If it does, please re-enable them and then, if possible, run SysInternals' Process Monitor while opening the browser/reproducing the delay so that we can see what's happening on the system.

    Let me know your results!
     
  8. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    I have disabled them in FF 26.0 & IE9
    Only a short usage so far but I can say that the difference is very noticeable.
    Much reduced lag. Scrolling is smoother etc.
    I think that I would not have posted if it had been like this.
    Mind you, lets wait awhile just in case.
     
  9. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
    I would bet the Identity Shield is also contributing to the slowdown.
     
  10. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    Is the Identity Shield granular
    I've never even looked at WSA facilities in depth.
    'Fit & Forget' is my favorite type of software.
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I haven't seen any issues myself with IE10 & Firefox 26 could it be some other security software your using in realtime with WSA?

    Thanks,

    TH

    Actually IE10 very fast even with v8.0.4.42 and the same with the beta v8.0.4.46 now!

    21-12-2013 7-31-08 PM.png
     
  12. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
    Webroot is my only security solution. No need for anything else. Right?
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I wouldn't think the ID Shield would be impacting performance like this - it sits lower than the browser level so it shouldn't affect browsing. The web filtering extensions integrate directly into the browser and are more likely to be causing slowdown.
     
  14. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    I'm also experiencing rediculous lags in IE11 (on Win7 x86) and that's with the Webroot Filtering Extension disabled. It takes about 5 seconds (on average) before some webpages become responsive at all. :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2013
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Right but it doesn't hurt to ask. ;)

    TH
     
  16. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,092
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    IE10 and IE11 don't work to good with Win 7 from what i have read. I stayed with IE9.
     
  17. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    ie11 works awesome with win 7 here, far better than ie9 in every way
     
  18. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,092
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I don't use IE so i did not go looking for any problems by updating to IE10 and IE11.
     
  19. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,092
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I had to turn it off because it was slowing Browser and non Browser things down. Did you notice ID Shield slowdowns in previous versions of WSA.
     
  20. superssjdan

    superssjdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    No problems here and i'm using WSA with KIS 2014
     

    Attached Files:

  21. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    No other 'real time' just mbam (free) as on demand.
     
  22. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you write into our support inbox so that they can collect logs to diagnose closer?

    Thanks!
     
  23. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    Things are still better with the browser addons disabled.
    Now that these are disabled I am able to notice other potential issues (Thankfuls post?)

    I 'see' a lag when clicking links in a browser, sometimes I click twice thinking that I didn't click correctly the first time. It is not the mouse as I have tried another)
    Still it's better than it was.
    I wont raise a ticket over Christmas, lets leave the WSA folks alone for a minor?

    However I thought I might uninstall WSA to test fully and wondered if I will have any license problem upon reinstall.
    Cheers
    David
     
  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No you won't have any issues just reinstall when your ready don't deactivate the PC on the online console if you did you will have to go back and reactivate.

    Daniel ;)
     
  25. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks Daniel
    I have just uninstalled and have nothing running (AV)
    WSA is the 'lightest' AV I have ever used and that covers a lot of AV's
    However uninstalling just shows what is 'going on' or not in the background, because my browser responses are markedly faster.
    This really suprises me.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.