brief freeze on Winamp Startup

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Zan2828, Oct 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zan2828

    Zan2828 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,

    Very recently, my system started freezing when I double click mp3 files, and Winamp would not open. In Vista, I get a "Remote procedure call failed" error after the freeze, while in XP, the screen simply freezes and I get no error message. I double click again, and Winamp opens. I close Winamp, and double click the file, and again the freeze/error happens. So in summary, the freeze/error happens only every other time I open mp3 files.

    When I turn off NOD32, this behavior goes away.

    I have reproduced this problem on two systems. I am using latest NOD32 and latest Winamp. This only started happening within the past few days, so perhaps one of the updates includes a
    false positive, so NOD32 prevents Winamp from opening.

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2008
  2. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    i tried double click .mp3 file and winamp 5.54 run smoothly...
    try to disable Advanced Heuristic & Runtime Packer option in Real-time Protection
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2008
  3. Zan2828

    Zan2828 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    tried it, doesn't work.

    as i already said, this only started happening recently, probably b/c a recent update. if i disable the antivirus, everything runs smoothly.
     
  4. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    i have recent update and winamp 5.54 too..
    have you tried to reinstall winamp ?
     
  5. Zan2828

    Zan2828 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    yes. is there anyway to rollback definition updates? just for testing purposes.
     
  6. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    nope.. you must uninstall then re-install ESET to get older definition.
     
  7. Zan2828

    Zan2828 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    cupez:

    did you try exiting winamp completely after double clicking mp3?

    try double clicking an mp3 again, windows will freeze briefly and winamp will not open.
     
  8. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    yup, and still run smoothly...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.