BR10 Free vis a vis AV software

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Howard Kaikow, Nov 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    I thought that I had asked a similar question before, but could not find the thread.


    BR 10 does not play nice9ly) with KAV 7.0.1.325, but at least it runs, albeit very slowly.

    BR10 Free is worse.
    Even after telling KAV to trust launcher .exe, BR10 Free gets hung up unless I disable the AV

    Anybody have experience with this prog and Kaspersky?

    I expect that folkes at Paragon use Kaspersky.
    what has to be made trusted?
     
  2. Paragon_Tommy

    Paragon_Tommy Paragon Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Posts:
    918
    Howard,

    Regarding Kaspersky, I'll try to contact them and see what the problem is with our programs and their AV.
     
  3. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Many programs have the same issue until one tells Kasprsky to Trust the program.

    When BR starts, KAV warns about launcher.exe, so I told KAV to trust launcher.

    Remember, I'm using KAV 7.01.325 as that is the latest Kaspersky that runs on Windows 2000.

    In theory, one could tell Kasapersky to trust every .exe and .dll used by BR, but that would be a bit much.
     
  4. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    In Task Manager I have:

    plauncher_s.exe

    as well as launcher.exe.

    Is that any help?
     
  5. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Maybe.

    But Paragon needs to figure this out.
     
  6. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Thought that I'd mention that the AV issue applies to Partition Manager, as well as to BR10 Free and BR10.

    Bye thee waye, i'm looking foward to further testing the Paragon products, but had to buy another External drive to get the disk space as the full archive will not fit in the remaining space on 2 of my USB drives in additio to the True Image archives.

    I purchased a Western digital Caviar Greeen 1,5TB and an AcomData Samba case,
     
  7. bman412

    bman412 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    261
    Does this slow down also affect Paragon 10 line of products when using different realtime scanners or is isolated only to Kaspersky?
     
  8. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Curently, I'm only using Kaspersky.

    In general, Kaspersky does more checking than other AV programs.
    Optionally, I could disable some of the protections, but that would be unwise.

    As with many AV programs, Kaspersky allows me to identify TRused apps, but to do so, I have to know which .exe's and .dll's to tell Kaspersky to trust.

    For example, the PC is multiboot.

    I've got the same AV in ALL OS.
    Paragon is installed in the OS on the G drive.
    Acronis TRue Image 9 is installed in the main OS on the J drive.

    Both OS are Win 2000.

    So, Paragon is just doing something that Kaspersky dislikes, and I would have to tell Kaspersky which progs to trust. Note that I do not have to tell Kaspersjy to trust TRue Image. Perhaps, if I did, True Image would run faster,

    When BR 10 Free starts,, Kaspersky raises a warning about launcher.exe. No other components result in warnings, but I can see the Kasprsky icon wagging its tail when Paragon runs. The goal is to tell Kaspersky which progs it need not check. I've done that forlauncher.exe, but I'm not about to waste my time figuring out what else to trust. Info has to come from Paragon

    Unfortuneatelty, version 7.0.1.325 is the latest Kaspersky that will run in Windows 2000.

    The latest version of Kaspersky is version 9.0.0.736
    I use that in Vista, but I do not want to test Paragon in Vista.

    Kaspersky 2010 (version 9) has a built-in whitelist of apps, again, I could add apps to the list, but for the latest vetrsion, Paragon should request that Kaspersky whilelist the apps. If Kaspersky refuses, Paragon should be able to find out why.
     
  9. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    Well. ever the masochist, I did the following:

    1, Booted to the OS that has Paragom installed.
    2, Disconected the cable modem.
    3, Disabled Kaspersky.
    4. Ran a backup as described in other postings.
    5. Things ran faster, but I do not know where to find the log file to get the timestamps. I believe that the prog is slower than Acronis True Image 9.
    6, But the prog never finished!!!

    When it got to the last step in

    I got

    Remember, I had Kasprsky paused durimg all of this.

    So, after exiting the prog, I decided to resume Kaspersky.
    Some options in Kaspersky would not restart.
    I had to reboot!
     
  10. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    1, I booted to the OS that has Acronis True Image 9.
    2. Disconnected cable modem.
    3, paused Kaspersky.
    4. Did a full backup.

    I was astonished to find that the backup took abiut the same time as the earlier backup that had Kaspersky enabled.

    But the verify took 15 minutes less. Might be explained by different file fragmentation, or the phase of the moon.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.