bought new firewire external drive, please help

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by thebigdintx, Oct 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    I gave up trying to get my Acomdata external USB hard drive to work, so I returned it.

    I purchased an ADS dual link enclosure (USB and Firewire hookups), and a Hitachi 80GB Deskstar 3.5" hard drive which I put into the enclosure.

    I have it hooked up via firewire. I used True Image version 8 build 937 from within windows, and successfully created an image to it. I then checked the image with T.I. from within windows and it checked out ok.

    Problem.........I tried to load the Rescue CD to check the image with that also, but during boot to the rescue cd I received "Loading please wait...ieee1394: sbp2: sbp2_set_busy_timeout error" I tried again and got "Loading please wait...ieee1394: sbp2: aborting sbp2 command.". It then booted into the rescue enviornment, but when I tried to check image, it seemed to freeze up while analyzing partition D. I just restarted my computer to get out of it because it was hung up for a bit.
     
  2. David Campen

    David Campen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I hate to say it but your ADS enclosure may not work any better than the Acomdata. I had tried using a drive mounted in an ADS enclosure last year and TI (V7) had trouble with it. The drive wouldn't stay spun up and TI would hang. I blame the ADS enclosure; it had worked with a CD drive but there was something about the chipset and the driver it was using that caused problems the HD; I experienced problems using the HD in this ADS enclosure with other applications besides TI. I replaced it with a different USB external drive and now TI (V7) and the other apps are happy.
     
  3. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    For my Dimensions, I bought a CompUSA 3.5" USB2 enclosure and use Maxtor, Hitachi and WD drives (no SATA). No problems with TI8 builds 796, 800, 826, 937. All the boot CD's recognize the external drives. I have come to trust build 826 the most.

    When I clone or create images using 826, all Dell hidden partitions continue to function on the clones or after image restore from the external drives. Try the CompUSA enclosures. Their USB2 chipset seems to like TI8. :)
     
  4. Allen L.

    Allen L. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    335
    Location:
    -Close-
    I replied earlier that I use a Acomdata external USB2 enclosure I bought from CompUSA and installed a Seagate 80GB 7200, and haven't had a problem at all using the latest version 8 of TI. I'm running an Intel motherboard so I would presume an Intel USB chipset controller chip.

    ...Allen
     
  5. OinkyPig

    OinkyPig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    There is always some conflicts between different manufacturers' chipsets.

    From my own reading on the net, VIA USB \ Firewire chipsets tend to have conflicts with other manufacturer's.
    E.g. VIA Firewire on the MB cannot ID an OXFORD chip (on the 3.5" enclosure), but putting in a PCI Texas Instrument Firewire card.. it can ID and access...
    Same for USB devices...

    I personally after reading such infor, choose NEC\Intel for my USB and Texas Instrument for my Firewire..
     
  6. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    I've recently been seeing the same thing. It's not Oinky Pig's imagination.;)
     
  7. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    I tried firewire first because I thought it was supposed to be the better choice (it seemed to work except for the 8.937 rescue cd having some kind of problem with it...see my first post above). I have since tried using the USB connection, and everything worked fine with T.I. 8.937 as far as creating an image to the external drive, and verifying it with T.I. from within windows, and from the rescue cd.
     
  8. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    I am using version 8 build 937 successfully now with my external drive hooked up by USB, but I would like to know why I got the above error messages when I tried to use the rescue cd with the drive hooked up by firewire. Anyone know why I got the above error messages, and how to fix?
     
  9. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    If you search back about two or three months ago someone else was having a heck of a time getting external firewire to work. I think he eventually settled for using USB 2. Theoretically usb 2 is a little faster than Firewire anyway.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.