Bork Tuesday, Any Problems Yet?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Nov 12, 2014.

  1. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,072
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hmm, interesting. I'm not savvy about the various switches, just know what works on here. Anyway, here is the output, it seems there's still some "stuff" in that section you mentioned. Looks like something to look into if one wants to recoup that bit too. Thanks for the add'l info. I'm wondering now if the /ResetBase switch is necessary. Running that cmd without the switch doesn't do anything, the stuff is still there.

    dismstore.PNG
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,174
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    plat1098,

    I use this clean.cmd. "EMPTY" is an empty folder and it can be anywhere you like. Run the batch file as admin.

    Code:
    Dism.exe /online /Cleanup-Image /StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase
    
    robocopy "D:\My_files\Storage\Keep\S to Z\T\TeraByte apps\WinPE\EMPTY" "C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\Download" /mir /r:0"
    
    pause
     
  3. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,386
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I tested it on my system and /resetbase removed approx. 2 GB of data all from section Backups and Disabled Features.
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,982
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I only used Disk cleanup the first time I cleaned Windows updates, after that, I have been doing the cleanup via Settings in my W10. I find cleanups works well via Settings. But I learned that you can't trust the number that it gives as what is supposed to clean. So, for example, if it shows that is going to clean 540MB, it might actually end up cleaning 2 or 3 GB's. Same if it shows 4GB, it might only clean 2GB.

    I know lately you been deleting Software distribution every time you do an update or almost every time. I don't think is beneficial or healthy you keep doing that. If the size of the folder is a few GB then certainly delete the files and folders but that folder is normal to be about 500MB all the time. I see it increasing to about a Gig after doing an update (like after today's), and by tomorrow or the following day the system will clean it itself and the size would go down to somewhere between 485MB and 616MB. This is what I seen constantly happening in my computer after an update. Best regards, plat. :)

    Bo
     
  5. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,072
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Awesome, had to make little changes and still working on the second command before saving. Re-edit: OK, it works now, Yay!--but these tasks were already done so will give this a whirl next update time. Thank you, first time here. :)

    winupdateclean.PNG

    @Minimalist : Yes, I am only speculating but maybe since I'm running an Insider build, this data cannot be deleted as one could running the regular Windows. Otherwise, it should have worked like your trial did for you. But, I have no other explanation why it didn't delete that Backups and Disabled section.

    Bo, you're right overall, of course, but it seems it's actually OK to delete JUST the contents of the Download folder. I don't touch the other contents, I can see where this could cause problems. I mean, it's not much--maybe 1GB or so. But I don't have a large C drive so I just like it clean wherever possible if it's not harmful. :)

    Source
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2021
  6. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,386
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Sorry it was my bad wording. On my system it also left some data in that section ( approx. 1.9GB ) but data size before and after /resetbase has shrunk. So I guess that /resetbase removes unneeded data from that section.
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,174
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2021
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,174
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    plat1098,

    You can use a Robocopy batch file to delete Temp files...

    Code:
    @echo off
    
    robocopy "D:\My_files\Storage\Keep\S to Z\T\TeraByte apps\WinPE\EMPTY" "C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Local\Garmin\BaseCamp\TileCache" /mir
    
    robocopy "D:\My_files\Storage\Keep\S to Z\T\TeraByte apps\WinPE\EMPTY" "C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Local\Garmin\HomePort\TileCache" /mir
    
    robocopy "D:\My_files\Storage\Keep\S to Z\T\TeraByte apps\WinPE\EMPTY" "C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Local\Temp" /mir
    
    robocopy "D:\My_files\Storage\Keep\S to Z\T\TeraByte apps\WinPE\EMPTY" "C:\Users\Brian\AppData\LocalLow\Google\GoogleEarth\unified_cache_leveldb_leveldb2" /mir
    
    robocopy "D:\My_files\Storage\Keep\S to Z\T\TeraByte apps\WinPE\EMPTY" "C:\Users\Brian\AppData\LocalLow\Google\GoogleEarth\Cache\unified_cache_leveldb_leveldb2" /mir
    
    robocopy "D:\My_files\Storage\Keep\S to Z\T\TeraByte apps\WinPE\EMPTY" "C:\Users\Brian\AppData\LocalLow\Google\GoogleEarth\webdata" /mir
    
    robocopy "D:\My_files\Storage\Keep\S to Z\T\TeraByte apps\WinPE\EMPTY" "C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Roaming\Canon\MP Navigator EX V40\temp" /mir
    
    robocopy "D:\My_files\Storage\Keep\S to Z\T\TeraByte apps\WinPE\EMPTY" "C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Roaming\GARMIN\MapSource\TileCache" /mir
    
    robocopy "D:\My_files\Storage\Keep\S to Z\T\TeraByte apps\WinPE\EMPTY" "C:\Windows\Temp" /mir
    
     
  9. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,374
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Was offered Cumulative Update for Win10 20H2 (KB5001330) via Windows Update.

    Very quick, now up to OS build 19042.928.
     
  10. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,072
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Goodie, more cmd stuff. Much obliged, BrianK. :)
     
  11. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    454
    Location:
    .
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,804
    Mine seems ok.
     
  13. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,386
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Yes, I also have it looking like this.
     
  14. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,031
    +1.
     
  15. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,994
    Mine is ok also....
     
  16. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,573
    Same here, but only in the tab "App History". The MS Edge icon looks normal in the tab "Processes". Weired.
     
  17. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,804
    No issues to report so far with this month's updates.
     
  18. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,072
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hmm, interesting observation. In Apps section, it looks like the blue/green wave it always was, as do all the ones under the arrow. There's an Edge process in Background processes that looks like the generic icon and in App History, the same generic icon as Special displayed. :doubt:

    edgeappstm.PNG

    edgetmicon.PNG
     
  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,037
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I had 2 new new Update's within Edge today so check for updates.


    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----

    Hash: SHA256

    **************************************************************************************

    Title: Microsoft Security Update Releases

    Issued: April 14, 2021

    **************************************************************************************

    Summary

    =======

    The following Chrome CVEs have been released on April 14, 2021.

    These CVE were assigned by Chrome. Microsoft Edge (Chromium-based) ingests Chromium, which addresses these vulnerabilities. Please see Google Chrome Releases

    (https://chromereleases.googleblog.com/2021) for more information.

    See

    https://msrc-blog.microsoft.com/202...-supports-cves-assigned-by-industry-partners/

    for more information about third-party CVEs in the Security Update Guide.

    * CVE-2021-21206

    * CVE-2021-21220

    Revision Information:

    =====================

    - Version 1.0

    - Reason for Revision: Information published.

    - Originally posted: April 14, 2021



    2021-04-14_17-27-05.png

    2021-04-14_17-33-26.png
     
  20. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,960
    Very rarely use my Edge, so still at an earlier version:

    Microsoft Edge 44.18362.449.0
    Microsoft EdgeHTML 18.18363
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,037
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  22. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,960
  23. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,062
    Can't update Edge from v89 to v90:

    An error occurred while checking for updates: Unable to connect to the Internet. If you use a firewall, please allowlist MicrosoftEdgeUpdate.exe. (error code 7: 0x800421F7 -- system level).
     
  24. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    982
    Same here.
     
  25. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,430
    Had it too but just now it finally updated.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.