Bork Tuesday, Any Problems Yet?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Nov 12, 2014.

  1. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,024
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I don't know if MS will notice us about this fix and I doubt that many will retest it after each update. If MS will share info about this fix, it will surely be posted here also.
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    61,746
    Location:
    U.S.A.
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,641
    Hope this gets fixed with tomorrow's patches.

    EDIT: I assume that everyone still has this disabled for the moment? No other workarounds?
     
  4. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    766
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I also hope that. it's the only issue i personally have with this built.
    It's disabled on my laptop.
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,641
    Roger that. I am still running 1909 at work due to a few 2004 issues.

    At home, I just got a new desktop and am running 2004 on it. No issues so far aside from this one as well.
     
  6. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    426
    Location:
    .
    Patch Tuesday's are for security updates, I wouldn't hold my breath for other things getting fixed that aren't "security" related.
     
  7. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,024
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Don't cumulative updates released on patch Tuesday contain both - security and non-security updates?
     
  8. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,396
    Location:
    UK
    Win 10 2004 now at build 19041.388

    KB4565627 Cumulative for .net framework
    KB4565503 Cumulative for Win 10
    KB4566785 Service Stack

    All seems to be working okay.
     
  9. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,641
    Pretty sure that is a yes. They do also fix bugs in these updates.
     
  10. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,024
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I just updated Windows 10 2004 and Office 2019 with no noticeable problems.

    After restart last phase was "Cleaning up" which I don't remember seeing before. Disk cleanup also didn't find any old Windows update data to remove. Maybe they included old data cleanup in update process?

    EDIT: I rechecked built-in defragger problem and it's still present after update.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2020
  11. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    The cumulative itself installed properly but I also couldn't find the regular Update debris to delete. DiskCleanup and PrivaZer came up empty-handed.

    Like others have already reported, still have the Disk Defrag "never run" bug upon machine restart.

    What mystifies me is that Microsoft fixed this in an Insider Build released about two months before 2004 was formally released. :doubt:
     
  12. epsir19

    epsir19 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    and Microsoft still has not figured out how to fix the defrag bug for 2004, not even with the KB4565503 CU.
    maybe in a later 19041.4xx or greater build, hopefully
     
  13. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    790
    This update took nearly one hour :( . The update to 2004 had taken only 15 or 20 minutes.
     
  14. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,476
    Location:
    Outer space
    On 1 out of 2 PC's, Windows 10 automatically installed and started Chromium-based Edge. Note that the new installation was also out of date, when I clicked to the about window, it updated from v81 to v83.
     
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,621
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yeah, "Cleaning Up" was new on one machine.

    The second machine updated automatically and prompted me to restart, which I did. About two hours later I got another notification to restart again! Maybe because there was an update to Windows Defender?
     
  16. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,641
    No issues so far on three different machines. Strangely, only one of the three had the "Cleaning Up" message. It is also the oldest machines of the bunch. Weird.
     
  17. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,278
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Just updated as well to build 19041.388 without any problems except for a very long 'restart'. I've also noticed a new 'cleaning up' period, although after running the tool 'Disk Cleanup', it did claim to clean 2.44 GB, apparently. After checking the size of my C volume before and after cleaning up, only 1.5 GB were removed. I find this kind of discrepancies infuriating as computers should be precise machines. I also can confirm the Windows defragmenting tool has no memory of operations.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2020
  18. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,278
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Well my computer is 7 years old and had the 'Cleaning up' period, so maybe you are right it might be related to hardware age.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2020
  19. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Can someone confirm something for me, please? Here's a snip of Defender's various component versions, am I up to date with the latest Antimalware Platform? I looked at the latest Microsoft Antimalware Updates section and it seems my Platform version is more recent but because of this update thing, I just want to make double-sure..
    defender versions.PNG
    The Antimalware Platform update came today but it failed to download x3. Turns out I didn't whitelist all of the Defender components in the Firewall. So, did that, restarted machine, and suddenly I'm "up to date." Did a Stealth Update happen? No record in the Update History. By the way, no "Cleaning Up" message for me, the machine is 5 years old. Hmmm. :cautious:
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,621
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Hi plat,

    They're the same versions as mine.

    I found an update to Defender antimalware platform under "Definition Updates" in Update History.
     
  21. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,641
    It is definitely bizarre. Then again, so are all things Microsoft. :eek:
     
  22. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Yes, looked in both places that log Update History In Settings--under the Definitions section, there ain't nothing in there. So, it's probably understandable that I'm not sure if that Platform update went thru or not. Weird, right?

    defdefup.PNG

    OK, good, thank you for checking, Krusty. :)
     
  23. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,024
    Location:
    Slovenia
    For me it happened on new machine bought this year.
     
  24. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,306
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    No Service Stack but otherwise the same.
    Very quick, took about 5 minutes on my 8th Gen Intel Dell XPS - which also had the 'Cleaning up' phase.

    ThinkPad Yoga (4th Gen): 'The Windows 10 May 2020 Update is on its way ...'. Maybe in 2021. :rolleyes:
    Meanwhile it does get a 1909 CU KB4565483, .NET, Office 2010 updates.
     
  25. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,396
    Location:
    UK
    The service stack will not have been listed as an update. You will know if it was installed by going to Control Panel..Programs and features.. and selecting 'View installed updates' on the left side of the page.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.