Bork Tuesday, Any Problems Yet?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Nov 12, 2014.

  1. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,731
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Well, include yours truly in that category. Found the Cortana Bing setting in OOShutUp10 and disabled it. So thought I would give installing KB4512941 a whirl. A very big mistake!

    Download and initial install went smooth. Upon Win 10 reboot, appeared installing the update went OK. Upon second reboot, system went immediately into Auto Recovery and Repair mode. Luckily the repair was successful and Win 10 auto uninstalled KB4512941 and system rebooted fine.

    KB4512941 install error code was 0x800f0845. This was the same code that occurred a while back on AMD systems for the Spectre patch fiasco. No way I am going to attempt a reinstall on this update.
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,381
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You might be right. Myself, I am not having issues with this update but I don't use OOShutUp10. I tested doing local searches in the computer, and the results look fine and I am not seeing high CPU or memory.

    Sin título.jpg

    Another reason why I am not experiencing issues with this update is probably because I dont have Cortana (I believe I dont have it). As far as I understand it, Cortana is not available in the country I live. Also, I remember when I first setup the computer, I was given the option by the installation setup to disable Cortana, and I selected whatever option there was to disable Cortana. I see Cortana in Windows 10 Settings but there are no settings when I click it other than one for selecting the language. I never clicked it as I dont want Cortana. But anyway, I don't see Cortana running in Task manager, I dont have OOShutUp1, and I am not having issues with the update, maybe this things are related. Also, I checked the registry, and I dont have the registry key that is being recommended to be added as a workaround.
    One reason I like installing this updates at the end of the month is to make updates smaller and to take less time doing them. If we dont install the end of the month updates, the patch Tuesday updates are larger. I prefer to have 2 monthly smaller updates than one large one. Thats my reason for doing the end of the month updates when they become available. :)

    Bo
     
  3. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,280
    Location:
    USA
    And I'm still waiting...

    david byrne.jpg
     
  4. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,731
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    It also appears that the OOShutUp10 setting for Bing searching has no relation to this reg. key;

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Search]
    "BingSearchEnabled“=dword:00000001

    That key doesn't exist on my Win 10 x(64) 1903 build.
     
  5. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,759
    July 2018? The latest version is from May 2019. Support for 1903 has been added in the latest version.
     
  6. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,731
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    May, 2019 I meant.
     
  7. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2,053
    Location:
    Serbia
    SearchUI.exe is Cortana's process, it's the one that did the churning here.
    If you click on "Processes" tab, you should see 'Cortana' suspended among "Background Processes" there.
    ...
    To be clear, the term "Cortana" is not used here to refer to the 'personal assistant' but rather to Windows Search facility in general, these two are tightly connected.
    Setting the "Bing disabled" option to green in OOSU will add a dword of 0 for that key.
    Red will remove the key. Which suggests that the value of 1 is default and should not be neccessary to add it manually. This also makes sense as Bing IS most likely enabled by default on a MS OS.
     
  8. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,381
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I know SearchUI.exe is the process that reflects the problem. In my case, SearchUI.exe its always like in the picture I posted (suspended with 0% CPU/Memory usage).

    Since I don't have Cortana, Cortana doesn't appear under the Processes tab. What I see there instead is a process for "Search" with the name Busquedad (Spanish for Search).

    Bo
     
  9. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,731
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Yeah, noticed that when I reset the setting in OOShutUp10.
     
  10. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2,053
    Location:
    Serbia
    Is it suspended? If so, than that must be it.
    Which again suggests that the people who used this fix to counter the issue also use OOSU with "Bing serach disabled" set on green.
    You can have Bing search disabled and still install this KB, but the cache needs to be replaced ("Woody's fix").
    Side effect is that the System File Checker (sfc /scannow) will flag this cache as invalid and replace it thus reproducing the issue with Cortana CPU usage.
    Let's see what comes out of this.
     
  11. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,381
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Yes, it is suspended. Also, when I right click Busqueda/Search and Click go to details, it brings me to....SearchUI.exe. :)

    Sin título.jpg

    Bo
     
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,381
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    FWIW, I dont know if it means anything, just for doing it, I checked that cache folder yesterday, and despite having done the update, mine has a time stamp from 18 of March 2019. So, I have no issues, and that cache folder appears to have been unaffected by this recent update.

    Bo
     
  13. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2,053
    Location:
    Serbia
    @bo elam,
    you don't have this issue most likely because you don't use OOSU and didn't mess with the holy Bing search.

    As for the Cortana cache, this is a snippet of what's being flagged by SFC -

    Code:
    2019-09-01 02:08:30, Info                  CSI    00000075 Hashes for file member [l:5]'6.txt' do not match.
     Expected: {l:32 ml:33 b:245ac40eca1f777c4942443c75703cb2cdc1f8d908cb0202c8391304076bbc74}.
     Actual: {l:32 b:a36d3610af1bc1b0f058d8708a06ad700a5de5b8b8f93adf8a4929744ab41d67}.
    2019-09-01 02:08:30, Info                  CSI    00000076 [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:5]'6.txt' of Microsoft-Windows-Cortana.Desktop.AppxMain.cache.Desktop.Cortana, version 10.0.18362.329, arch amd64, nonSxS, pkt {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35} in the store, hash mismatch
    2019-09-01 02:08:30, Info                  CSI    00000077 Hashes for file member [l:20]'AppCacheMetadata.xml' do not match.
     Expected: {l:32 ml:33 b:f98b34597b28201c999485eedc76e55586e260a71d3dbc0f2fdbd7dfa1690329}.
     Actual: {l:32 b:089cb0a63b90d188b49dbafe2c3ccfeb0bb83a16daac2c59efebe888504fffbd}.
    2019-09-01 02:08:30, Info                  CSI    00000078 [SR] Cannot repair member file [l:20]'AppCacheMetadata.xml' of Microsoft-Windows-Cortana.Desktop.AppxMain.cache.Desktop.Cortana, version 10.0.18362.329, arch amd64, nonSxS, pkt {l:8 b:31bf3856ad364e35} in the store, hash mismatch
    etc.
    So that's why I initially said that this fix ("Woody's") is not perfect.
     
  14. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,611
    Location:
    Canada
    Cortana is disabled in my case via Group policy and SearchUI.exe also shows "Suspended". In fact, I've yet to be offered the KB4512941 update through Windows update.
     
  15. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,675
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Posters are obviously having problems after KB4512941.

    I am interested whether these are exceptions, or if it has been a general problem.

    Don't fancy applying 'Woody's fix', and then sfc doesn't like it. That is not really a fix.

    Like Bo, I don't think Cortana is even available in my country, and I have never messed with any related settings.

    Best to hold off?
     
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,381
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Paul. Since you dont use OOShutUp10 (and hopefully nothing like it that messes with settings and Windows) or Cortana, I think you should be fine applying the update. I haven't had any issue whatsoever with this update. The install went perfect and I am not experiencing high CPU or Memory. My Search Window opens fine when I click the Search icon in Taskbar (some people with problems report that their Window looks blank). Searches show up as they supposed to and immediately after closing the Search Window, SearchUI.exe memory goes back to 0 and to Suspended Status. As I understand it, thats how its supposed to. Do the update, you ll be fine.

    Bo
     
  17. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    889
    Also had the high CPU load issue after updating.

    Re-enabling Cortana in O&O ShutUp did not help.

    Setting BingSearchEnabled to 1 in Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Search, as suggested by XSevenX did "solve" it for me.
     
  18. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2,053
    Location:
    Serbia
    Then I agree with Bo, from everything seen so far, my guess is that both you and @wat0114 will be fine applying this update.
    You can do that, for now at least, as this KB is still being offered as "optional".
    But come the next month (and it's already here) KB4512941 will likely become mandatory.
     
  19. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2,053
    Location:
    Serbia
    Yeah, neither of the Cortana settings made any difference.
    What you should've unchecked is "Extension of Windows 10 search with Bing" option. It's down near the bottom. This removes that registry key completely, which is the same as setting it to 1.
    (You linked the wrong article btw)
    ...
    I restored an image prior to KB4512941.
    Opened OOSU and unchecked "Extension of Windows 10 search with Bing" option (set it to red).
    Installed KB4512941, rebooted. No high CPU usage with Cortana.
    Conclusion: don't use "Woody's fix" (the one I posted earlier actually) as SFC will flag Cortana's cache as invalid.
    Just uncheck "Extension of Windows 10 search with Bing" option in OOSU. Prior or post the update, it does not matter.
    Case closed.
     
  20. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    889
    I’m not sure I understand why you say that.

    The comment from XSevenX (first comment under the article I linked) solved it for me.
     
  21. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    2,053
    Location:
    Serbia
    Sorry, my bad, haven't read the comments there. Thought you were refering to tenforums.
     
  22. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,586
    same here, except for the double installation part. both updates installed without any issues and all is well, no cpu glitches.
     
  23. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    889
    No worries.

    Thank you for mentioning the correct item in O&O ShutUp. Will try that later today.
     
  24. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,855
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  25. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,675
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Aargh!

    KB4512941: On two out of three instances, no problem.

    On one instance, recently clean installed, but now with some 3rd party software, I get a '0x80070006' failure on install.
    Troubleshooter, and sfc finds nothing, nor DISM RestoreHealth. Any other suggestions?
    Hope a repair install, or another clean install, is not required! :mad:
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.