Bork Tuesday, Any Problems Yet?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Nov 12, 2014.

  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,513
    hi
    thank you so much , but secureaplus is free for the first year ,isn't it? https://www.secureaplus.com/
     
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,597
    I was one of the original beta testers, and I got a lifetime license when I was testing it on my XP desktop back in 2014. But, you are right in that there is a free version. :)
     
  3. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,828
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    @mantra,
    Err.. I think this may be rather off-topic in this Bork Tuesday thread, but anyhow, you don't need SecureAPlus to use voidtools' Everything, of course.
     
  4. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    OK, since I manually update my other machine, I happened to catch kb4056892 downloading. I'm a little freaked over the latest Intel mess with CPU vulnerabilities/patches but a cursory glance over the changelog reveals a possible patch or at the very least, an update to the kernel. Oh boy.....no time wasted hauling this one out to the unwashed, right?

    Edit: no problems with installation. Winver is 16299.192 Re-edit: To be fair, I'm not noticing any performance degradations, so far. What I do notice is a definitely different "feel" to the machine. The CPU looks good in task manager and machine multi-tasks very well. So far.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 3, 2018
  5. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,619
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5,951
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    KB4056892 not offered to any of my machines.
     
  7. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,131
  8. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Yes, kb4056892 didn't come to my main computer either so it was installed via the Update Catalog and installed successfully. I ran benchmark software before and after this patch, seeing as both machines have i7--the readings were very similar; not seeing a whole lot of performance reductions, not yet. There was such concern raised over Intel's latest she-bang, I almost can't believe a patch to the kernel actually installed. But the winver states 16299.192. This patch was mandatory so I wanted it done and out of the way. So far, it's a decent outcome. We shall see.
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5,951
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Hmm, I guess that excludes Windows Defender and Norton Security
     
  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,421
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...cations-for-january-2018.399358/#post-2728799
     
  11. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Same here, so far.
     
  12. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,243
    Patch KB4056892 installed fine on my Win 10 machine that has ESET Endpoint Security installed.
     
  13. hiten

    hiten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Posts:
    38
    Did you install it manually or via automatic update?
     
  14. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,243
    Via WU, the patch was offered to be installed, so I had run it :)
     
  15. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    9,376
    Location:
    Slovenia
    No updates offered through WU on Windows 8.1 so far.
     
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,421
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5,951
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I just received KB4056892 on my two Win10 1709 machines running Windows Defender but not on the one machine running Norton.

    Edit: The update failed on one machine first go but appears to have succeeded on the second try.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2018
  18. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    9,376
    Location:
    Slovenia
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5,951
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    The Norton machine is updating now too.
     
  20. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,131
    Marcos has replied some hours ago in that thread.:
    I have indeed received ESET Antivirus and antispyware module 1533.3 in the meanwhile.

    PS: I didn't want to turn this thread into an ESET thread, but I thought that it might affect other AVs too. It was more of a general "heads-up".
     
  21. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,131
  22. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,421
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...x-windows-redesign.399338/page-3#post-2728899
     
  23. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,131
  24. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,421
    For Avira users:
    In order to receive the KB4056892, first you have to install the Avira v15.0.34.17* which released few minutes ago.

    *This version installs the key:
    Key="HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE" Subkey="SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\
    QualityCompat" Value="cadca5fe-87d3-4b96-b7fb-a231484277cc" Type="REG_DWORD”

    Edit:
    Don’t be afraid of a ‘Meltdown’ with the new Microsoft update

    https://blog.avira.com/avira-compatible-with-the-new-microsoft-meltdown-update/
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2018
  25. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,131
    On Win7 Pro 64-bit now manually installed:
    1. Security Only Quality Update for Windows 7 KB4056897
    2. IE Cumulative Update for Windows 7 KB4056568

    So far OK, but time will tell .....
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.