Bork Tuesday, Any Problems Yet?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Nov 12, 2014.

  1. paranoidboid

    paranoidboid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    US
    After getting a new SoftwareDistribution folder the "Get Updates for other Microsoft Products" button is there for me. But of course isn't working correctly. I click it which opens up IE and asks if I want Microsoft Products, click yes and then asks if I would like to change the WU settings. I say no, (leave it as is) and a UAC window pops up for Windows Updates. I click yes and an error occurred on the website saying:
    "Microsoft Update could not be installed on your computer
    Make sure that you log on as an administrator or as a member of the Administrators group, and then try again."

    I am assuming this isn't working correctly at the moment due to Microsoft product updates not working. :( (Only have the single user account as well as tried it by running IE in admin mode)
     
  2. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Of course we did. :)
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,779
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Sounds good to me! :thumb:
     
  4. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    I can imagine it isn't working due to Windows Update not working correctly.
    But also, I remember that to enable that option I had to allow some ActiveX control to be installed.
    For an ActiveX control to be installed, if ActiveX filtering was enabled in IE, first ActiveX filtering must be disabled in IE.
     
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,779
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  6. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    the Netherlands
  7. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,779
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Sorry, my powers only extend so far. ;) :D
     
  8. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I turned on my W7 a little while ago, and experienced no issue whatsoever checking fpr updates. I didnt have to change any Windows updates settings. I had during the entire lifetime of my Windows 7, Windows update set not to check for updates automatically. My WU window looks exactly as in your screen, I remember unchecking "Give me updates for Microsoft products and check for new optional Microsoft software when I update Windows" a long time ago. That setting went in the background after unchecking the setting. I doubt it ll come back to the front unless perhaps Updates are set back to automatic.

    Bo
     
  10. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    9,305
    Location:
    England
  11. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    To avoid having this Windows updates problem, people should set up Windows updates in W7 as in this picture posted by J R.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/attachments/2017-12-04_115555-png.259386/

    I posted (above your post) to confirm, that his workaround works.

    For me is not a workaround as I set Windows updates like that. Thats what I done during the lifetime of that laptop. I had no issue when I checked for updates. I had read J Rs posts and the links, so I felt pretty confident I was not gonna have an issue, and didn't.

    Bo
     
  12. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    9,305
    Location:
    England
    Thing is bo not everyone reads forums, so many will be at a loss to understand why their updates are not working and what workarounds to use (changing date etc).
    Also as noted in the BleepingComputer link..

    Hopefully Microsoft will fix this soon.
     
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    4,513
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Personally, I wouldnt change dates. That sounds like a bad idea. But changing settings that MS has in place, like unticking, "Give me updates for Microsoft products and check for new optional Microsoft software when I update Windows", cant do no harm. And it works.

    Bo
     
  14. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Yesterday, I had the Windows Update issue, on two Windows 7 x64 systems.
    Today, half an hour ago, I started my two Windows 7 systems, let Windows Update search for updates, and Windows Update came up with the two optional updates (one of them 'recommended') that should be there.
    Microsoft fixed Windows Update.

    I checked C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\AuthCabs\authcab.cab
    I opened it using 7-Zip.
    I opened the containing authorization.xml
    Where Yesterday that showed:
    <IssuedDate>2013-12-03T11:59:25.5067616-08:00</IssuedDate>
    <ExpiryDate>2017-12-03T11:59:25.5067616-08:00</ExpiryDate>
    Now it shows:
    <IssuedDate>2017-12-01T00:00:00.0000000-00:00</IssuedDate>
    <ExpiryDate>2025-07-01T00:00:00.0000000-00:00</ExpiryDate>
    So now it's good to go till 2025. :)
     
  15. kls490

    kls490 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Mid Atlantic Region (USA)
    FWIW, this WU issue is different on my Win 7, x64 Dell Desktop. (Just noticed this issue today).
    When I go to [CONTROL PANEL] > and click on "Windows Updates", all that happens is the screen freezes and the WU window does not even open. The mouse pointer displays the 'hourglass' beside it (though the pointer can still be moved around the screen).

    After 5 minutes of nothing happening, I end up having to shutdown the computer/power-up again just to get rid of the frozen Control Panel window & have things running normally again. I've tried 3 times now to get the WU window to even open - still no luck. Never had this type of problem occur before.:confused:

    Just my 2-cents worth...
     
  16. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,105
    I fired up one of my Windows 7 PCs to see if I had the issue. As soon as I checked for updates, I got this error, Windows Update Cannot Check For Updates, Because The Service Is Not Running. I checked, and the WU service was running.

    I was able to fix the issue, by disabling and the re-enabling Windows Update. After doing that, WU worked again and took just a few minutes to find updates.
     
  17. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,105
    I just ran Windows Update on a second computer and it worked fine the first time.
     
  18. kls490

    kls490 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Mid Atlantic Region (USA)
    Glad to hear WU is working for you, Roger.

    Unfortunately, I STILL cannot get the Windows Update window to open when I click on "Windows Update" in the Control Panel. (As described in my previous post).
    Task Manager shows WU is running. If I click on it and then click "End Process", WU stops running.

    But, I've noticed another oddity after ending the WU process. When I open my Firefox browser (which is the default & only one I use), a pop-up box appears on the screen as FF loads my Homepage. The box says something like,"Windows Explorer has stopped running"...or something to that effect. After the Homepage loads, I then exit FF and return to my Desktop screen.

    And, once again, I restart this computer. It would really be a BIG help if anyone could shed some light on what might be going-on in my case - since everyone else seems to have no problem getting the Windows Update screen to display - only me.

    Thanks very much for any feedback!
     
  19. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    6,105
    @kls490 I suggest you do the following to check and fix issues with Windows or your hard drive.
    Open an admin Command Prompt window, and enter these commands:
    sfc/scannow
    followed by
    chkdsk/f
    Enter Y, when asked if you want to schedule a disk check when you restart.

    Next, reboot. If you still have issues with Windows Update, download and run the Windows Update Troubleshooter from Microsoft.
     
  20. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    I cannot tell what is going on in your case, but you could try this, if you haven't done so already:

    In Windows Update, choose "Change settings",
    change the setting for how Important updates are offered to "Never check for updates" and confirm with "OK".
    Back in Windows Update, choose "Change settings",
    change the setting for how Important updates are offered back to your preferred setting and confirm with "OK".
    Back in Windows Update, choose "Check for updates".

    If that doesn't work right away, restart your computer,
    give it a few minutes to let Windows start the Windows Update service automatically,
    and try again Windows Update, choose "Check for updates".

    N.B.
    This will only work if C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\AuthCabs\authcab.cab has been updated automatically.
    To check if it authcab.cab has been updated, you can check the way I described in my previous post.
    You'll need 7-Zip for that, or something similar, like Bandizip, or PeaZip.

    If C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution\AuthCabs\authcab.cab has not been updated automatically, yet, give it one more day.
     
  21. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,003
    https://twitter.com/woodyleonhard
     
  22. kls490

    kls490 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Mid Atlantic Region (USA)
    Thanks for trying to help Roger.

    Unfortunately, when I open a command prompt it shows the following:

    C:\Users\Owner>

    That IS my Administrator account & I am logged-in to it, but when I type-in the sfc/scannow, as you said, I get a message telling me I cannot use the command except from an Administrator level...or something to that effect.

    When I type-in that chkdsk/f command you mentioned, I get an "Access denied" message - also telling me I don't have sufficient privileges and need to run it from an elevated command prompt.

    Unfortunately, I should also mention Roger, that I'm an elderly, disabled vet and not the least bit tech-saavy, so I'm frankly ashamed to say...I really need some detailed step-by-step instructions on what to do.

    What have I done wrong?

    (@Stupendous Man)

    Much obliged for your input as well. Unfortunately, as I mentioned in my OP, when I click on Windows Update in the Control Panel - - the WU screen will NOT even display. The Control Panel screen remains as it is with the infinite hourglass icon being shown beside the mouse pointer.
    It remains that way until I go into Task Manager and end the WU process.
    Since I can't even get the WU screen to open, I cannot access any of the WU settings.

    Hope this clarifies things a little.

    Thanks again to both of you for trying to help!
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2017
  23. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Even in Administrator account, for opening command prompt, right-click, and choose "Run as administrator".
    Now command prompt opens with:
    C:\Windows\system32>
    Now the commands sfc/scannow and chkdsk/f should work.

    However, I would first try the simple step of changing Windows Update settings like I described in my previous post, if you haven't done so already.
     
  24. kls490

    kls490 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Mid Atlantic Region (USA)
    Hi again, Roger and Stupendous Man,

    I would like to thank both of you VERY much for all your time and patience in helping this old man to finally get WU working again!!!

    [In Summary]
    No issues were found after running the sfc/scannow & chkdsk commands, as you suggested Roger. After the computer rebooted, I waited for about 10 minutes, then clicked on "Windows Update" in the Control Panel again. This time I did get the WU screen showing the red shield icon.

    Clicking on [Check for updates] initially returned a message that said something like "the update service was not running and I might need to restart the computer". I then changed the update settings according to the sequence you described, Stupendous Man, and clicked the [OK] button. After returning to the WU screen, the system automatically began checking for updates.
    It completed successfully, and reported no updates were available (Except for about 6 'Optional' updates).

    So, now everything is back to normal!:)

    Thank you both again for all your help!!!:thumb::D

    Pete (kls490)
     
  25. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,620
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Great! :thumb:
    And you're most welcome, Pete/kls490.
     
Loading...