BootIt Bare Metal

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Hadron, Oct 21, 2019.

  1. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    My apps aren't installed. They are "portable".
     
  2. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,493
    Yes, I know they are portable.
    I just realized Explorer++ is and Snapshot really is also.
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    This is my BuildScript.cmd

    Code:
    @echo off
    setlocal enableextensions enabledelayedexpansion
    
    :: This script will be run during the build process to handle custom
    :: build operations.
    
    :: ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    :: Add script commands after this line
    
    md "%TBWinPE_MountPath%\Program Files\DS" 2> nul
    copy "D:\TBWinRE_files\FileManagers\DS\*.*" "%TBWinPE_MountPath%\Program Files\DS"
    
    md "%TBWinPE_MountPath%\Program Files\explorer++_1.3.5_x64" 2> nul
    copy "D:\TBWinRE_files\FileManagers\explorer++_1.3.5_x64\*.*" "%TBWinPE_MountPath%\Program Files\explorer++_1.3.5_x64"
    
    echo BuildScript running...
    
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,493
    I just tried again, and even though I set it to 0, it still looks for boot drives and takes longer now.
    Also, my custom programs still don't show.

    How do you use that script?
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Put the script into the config folder

    When building, Settings, Scripts tab, put a tick in Use BuildScript.cmd

    When building, Settings, TBLauncher tab, Startup section. Remove the tick in "Search for TBWinRE/PE boot media after booting (max 8 seconds)"
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Edit my script to suit the folder name for your explorer++

    Edit the paths.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2019
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  8. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,493
    So, do I have to put my custom programs back in the TBWinRE_files\FileManagers again?
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I have...

    D:\TBWinRE_files\FileManagers\explorer++_1.3.5_x64

    D:\TBWinRE_files\FileManagers\DS

    You could use C:\
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    When you are building the TBWinRE you will see a black Command window for a second or so. That's BuildScript.cmd running. So if you see the black window, that's good.
     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,493
    But I thought you were using the path it was located in Program Files. I've tried both locations.
    %ProgramFiles%
    %ProgramFiles(x86)%

    No show.
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    %ProgramFiles% refers to a folder in the WIM

    It isn't C:\Program Files

    Can you post the contents of your BuildScript.cmd?
     
  13. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,493
    You've got me confused.
    I think we might be talking about 2 different methods.

    One manually and one with a script. :confused:
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Me too.

    All files/folders are in your
    C:\TBWinRE_files

    C:\TBWinRE_files\FileManagers
    contains your Explorer++ and DS files

    C:\TBWinRE_files\333re\config
    contains BuildScript.cmd and TBLauncher.ini

    Can you post the entire contents of BuildScript.cmd and TBLauncher.ini? Can you also post the contents of TBWinPE.ini (remove your personal info from the License section)?
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2019
  15. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,493
    This is how I had the folder structure set up.
    Basically, similar to just like I do for a UFD and Disc.

    TBWinRE_Files_.jpg

    Custom_Programs.jpg

    I also tried running them directly from Program Files (x86) and Program Files.
    Same result. I thought that you originally suggested that.
    I also thought that you originally suggested to do it manually. Now, we are doing it by script, as far as I can understand.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 24, 2019
  16. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,493
    Then in _BOOTWIM is Boot-IFW.cmd containg the following.
    Boot-IFW.jpg
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    And your BuildScript.cmd?
     
  18. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,493
    Code:
    @echo off
    setlocal enableextensions enabledelayedexpansion
    
    :: This script will be run during the build process to handle custom
    :: build operations.
    
    :: ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    :: Add script commands after this line
    
    md "%TBWinPE_MountPath%\C:\Program Files (x86)\Explorer++" 2> nul
    copy "C:\TBWinRE_Files\Custom_Programs\Explorer++\*.*" "%TBWinPE_MountPath%\Program Files (x86)\Explorer++"
    
    md "%TBWinPE_MountPath%\C:\Program Files (x86)\Snapshot" 2> nul
    copy "C:\TBWinRE_Files\Custom_Programs\Snapshot\*.*" "%TBWinPE_MountPath%\Program Files (x86)\Snapshot"
    
    echo BuildScript running...
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Hadron,

    Looks good. I think "Program Files" instead of "Program Files (x86)" in BuildScript.cmd and TBLauncher.ini is more correct but "Program Files (x86)" should work.

    Your TBWinPE.ini suggests you haven't put a tick in "Use BuildScript.cmd" yet.

    Does it work now?
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I just ran a test. %Program Files (x86)% doesn't work. It has to be...

    %ProgramFiles%
    (no space)
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2019
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Final, I hope.

    In BuildScript.cmd it is \Program Files\

    In TBLauncher.ini it is %ProgramFiles%

    In retrospect you should have used my scripts, unedited.
     
  22. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,493
    So, do I have to move Explorer++ and Drive Snapshot from Program Files (x86) to Program Files?
     
  23. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Explorer++ and Drive Snapshot folders should be in C:\TBWinRE_files\FileManagers
    (using my folder names)

    None of your TBWinRE files should be in C:\Program Files or C:\Program Files (x86)

    %ProgramFiles% refers to a folder in the WIM. It is X:\Program Files when the WIM has loaded.
     
  24. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,493
    Is ProgramFiles and FileManagers not visible in Windows?

    And are the particular folder names not interchangeable?
     
  25. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,553
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Let's make it easy.

    Use my BuildScript.cmd (this file will be placed in the config folder)



    Use these in TBLauncher.ini (edit this file in the config folder, not in the main folder)

    [Menu_Item_11]
    Name=Explorer++
    Path=%ProgramFiles%\explorer++_1.3.5_x64\Explorer++.exe
    WorkingDir=
    Parameters=
    Icon=0

    [Menu_Item_12]
    Name=Drive Snapshot
    Path=%ProgramFiles%\DS\snapshot64.exe
    WorkingDir=
    Parameters=
    Icon=0


    Change 3 folder names to..

    FileManagers
    DS
    explorer++_1.3.5_x64

    If it works in my computer it should work in your computer as we'll have the same scripts and folder names.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.