BootIt Bare Metal

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Hadron, Oct 21, 2019.

  1. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,388
    I've been a user of TeraByte Drive Image Backup And Restore Suite for quite a few years now, and have been impressed with it.

    And now I am wondering whether it is worth me getting BootIt Bare Metal.
    As far as a partition manager, I already have MiniTool Partition Manager, so I probably don't need the partitioning features. Or do I? :rolleyes:

    A feature that I wouldn't mind is the ability to reboot directly from Windows and restore an IFW image. A bit like Reflect can do. Can it do that?

    What else can it do for me? I see that I could boot multiple operating systems, but I am not sure about needing that at this stage.

    Also, when I click on "Purchase" on the TeraByte website, it offers me the BootIt Collection, but I already own Drive Image Backup And Restore Suite. Can I purchase it separate?

    Thanks for any constructive info regarding BootIt Bare Metal. *puppy*
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2019
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,358
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Hadron,

    If you have Ver 3 software you don't need the Bundle which includes BootIt and the imaging software. But BootIt is now sold as a Collection which includes BIBM and BootIt UEFI. It's the same price as the old single BIBM software.

    You probably don't need BIBM if you don't intend to multi-boot or do much partitioning. You can already reboot directly from Windows and restore an IFW image using TBWinRE.

    https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/howto/tbwinre_tutorial.htm

    See... "Create boot file TBWinRE.bin for use with TeraByte's BOOTFILE program:"

    If you have BIBM you can boot into IFL or TBWinRE partitions without needing bootable media. The reboot can be initiated in Windows using a component of BIBM called BootNow.
     
  3. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,388
    What does BootNow do to the OS?
    I did a search over that page, but it didn't mention BootNow.
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,358
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    It's not easy to find...

    https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/downloads-bootit-bare-metal.htm#addon

     
  5. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,388
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,358
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Yes. It's a separate download and only works with BootIt.

    I use BootNow in Windows, Linux and IFL. It's a useful tool.
     
  7. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,388
    So, I still have to buy BootIt? I don't mind if I do.

    I was given the offer a few years ago when I purchased IFW, but I didn't take it.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,358
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    BootNow only works if BIBM is installed. Download and use the Trial BIBM which is functional for a month. It's easy to uninstall if you decide it's not for you.

    You can do IFD imaging from BIBM and that can be automated if desired. IFD automation is easy but IFD imaging isn't as fast as IFL or IFW. However, the Trial BIBM doesn't contain Scripting so you probably can't automate IFD.
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,388
    That looks like a convoluted procedure.
    I'll have to read it again. :thumb:
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,358
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Stand by and I'll give you the fast version.
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,358
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    In the BootNow folder, right click BootNow.exe and create a Shortcut.

    Lets say you are multi-booting items named Win10, Win8 and Ubuntu in the BIBM Boot menu. You are in Win10 and you want to boot into Ubuntu.

    Rename the above shortcut Ubuntu
    Right click Ubuntu, Properties
    The Target line could be D:\BOOTNOW\BOOTNOW.EXE
    Edit that line to D:\BOOTNOW\BOOTNOW.EXE Ubuntu
    Click OK

    When you double click the Ubuntu icon, Windows will reboot and Ubuntu will load.
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,388
    Where is a separate purchase link for BootIt Bare Metal?
    I have already purchased Drive Image Backup And Restore Suite. :isay:
     
  13. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,388
    What if I want to simply reboot Windows 10 to restore an image without having to reply on boot media? Like Reflect, for example.
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,358
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,358
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    You can do that now without using BIBM. With TBWinRE and TBWinRE.bin. No media needed.

    Or do the restore in BIBM. No media needed.
     
  16. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,388
    How do I do that?
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,358
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I posted a TBWinRE tutorial in #2
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,358
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    In that same link, see "Appendix 4 - Directly Booting TBWinPE/RE WIM File in Windows 7 or Later>"

    That's probably easier than TBWinRE.bin
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,358
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    The fast way of booting a WIM.

    You will have 2 files (your choice of names)...

    000_val.txt
    Code:
    /v /uy /f:#0xB636C860@0x1:"\Tera\OS\c_B" /sp:0xC5 /rb:4
    bootwim val c_B .cmd
    Code:
    set TBIPath=D:\TBWinRE_files\333re
    "%TBIPath%\tbwinpe.exe" /bootwim "%TBIPath%\ISO\sources\boot.wim" /run "D:\TBWinRE_files\_BOOTWIM\000_val.txt"
    Run bootwim val c_B .cmd

    Edit... you get the line for the text file (000_val.txt) by running IFW in Windows and clicking "Save for WinPE" on the final Summary screen.

    Edit... if you just want to boot into IFW, you don't need a text file. Just this .cmd file.

    Code:
    set TBIPath=D:\TBWinRE_files\333re
    "%TBIPath%\tbwinpe.exe" /bootwim "%TBIPath%\ISO\sources\boot.wim"
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2019
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,358
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Hadron, does bootwim make sense?
     
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,358
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    For those who would like to try bootwim but found my instructions cryptic, here are more details.

    In D:\ drive create a new folder called TBWinRE_files
    In C:\Program Files (x86)\TeraByte Drive Image Backup and Restore Suite you will see a tbwinre folder. Copy the tbwinre folder to D:\TBWinRE_files
    Rename tbwinre to 333re (the most recent IFW version is 3.33)
    Now you have D:\TBWinRE_files\333re
    In the 333re folder, double click tbwinpe.exe and make your TBWinRE or TBWinPE. You don't have to do the makedisk step as bootable media isn't needed.

    In D:\TBWinRE_files create a new folder called _BOOTWIM
    In D:\TBWinRE_files\_BOOTWIM create a New Text File and copy this into the text file and save it

    Code:
    set TBIPath=D:\TBWinRE_files\333re
    "%TBIPath%\tbwinpe.exe" /bootwim "%TBIPath%\ISO\sources\boot.wim" /quiet
    Rename New Text Document.txt to boot-IFW.cmd

    Double click boot-IFW.cmd and your computer will reboot into IFW (TBWinRE or PE)
     
  22. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,388
    I am going to look at it again, Brian.
    So, I don't need BootIt Bare Metal to do this, do I?

    So, we have BootNow and BootWim?
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2019
  23. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,388
    I'm doing this now.

    What's the reason for creating the _BOOTWIM sub-folder?
     
  24. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,358
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    You don't need BIBM to use bootwim.

    You do need BIBM to use BootNow.

    The _BOOTWIM sub-folder is just for neatness. It makes less clutter in the D:\TBWinRE_files\333re folder. Later you will be adding more text and .cmd files in the D:\TBWinRE_files\_BOOTWIM folder.
     
  25. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,388
    I just did it. It restarted, but I got a blue screen. o_O

    Below are the details of the blue screen.

    "Enter" and "F8" did nothing.
    I shut down the computer, and entered F12 to go to my boot menu and selected my OS drive.
    I'm back up.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2019
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.