Booting question

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by james21, Jul 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. james21

    james21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    I have a Laptop that I made a image of after I installed Windows Xp Pro, the image was made on my external Hard drive.

    Now the question is, what happens when I want to format my Laptop hard drive and load the image on.

    The Laptop doesn't even want boot from the external Hard drive.

    Thanks all :)
     
  2. Eagle Creek

    Eagle Creek Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi James and welcome at Wilders,

    The most logical way to do this would be; boot the program you created the image with (eg, if you used Norton Ghost to make the image, take the Norton Ghost CD and boot your PC with that), point the image program to the location of the back-up (your external drive) and then put your image back in place.
     
  3. james21

    james21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Thanks Eagle Creek...

    I used Acronis True Image, do I follow the same steps?
     
  4. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Boot from the ATI bootCD and restore the image from there. If it's a full disk image then yuo don't need to format anything, ATI will take of the target disk.
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    There are 2 possible scenarios to this question/answer.

    The first one is the case of doing a restore from an operating PC to put it back to the state of a previous image. This is handy after testing software for example. In this case you can start a restore from Windows and the PC will reboot into the Linux recovery environment and restore the drive. The Linux recovery environment must be run since the active partition, typically C, cannot be restored with Windows running.

    The second scenario is the case where the PC is inoperative from a severe Windows corruption or a bad drive. This requires booting the PC with the TI rescue CD which starts the Linux environment from the CD. The image can then be restored.

    Note that either scenario can leave you with a "blank" disk if the restore gets as far as deleting the partition(s) which it does before restoring and then the restore fails. This is why you are encouraged to do a test restore on a spare HD when you first start using TI. In effect, you are testing that the provided Linux environment adequately supports your hardware configuration. Just because the Windows stuff runs OK doesn't mean the Linux stuff will.

    Doing a format to clean off the disk before doing a restore is worthless. TI restores the image which essentially overwrites any "format" done previously.
     
  6. james21

    james21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Thanks seekforever & shieber

    I tried to boot from the cd and then do a Full Image (like shieber said)

    But I get the Linux Kernel error. o_O
     
  7. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Try remaking a new TI Rescue CD and keep burn speed as slow as possible. This may not be a solution but I have found there is differences in quality of the Rescue CD.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello james21,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please make sure you use the latest build of the respective version of Acronis True Image. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If the latest build doesn't solve the problem, please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Note that if you use an older version of Acronis True Image (version 8.0 or lower) you should press F11 button when the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears and not when the selection screen appears (Acronis True Image 8.0 Bootable Rescue CD for example does not have any selection screen).

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If you are not able to create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) then please do the following:

    - Boot your computer from Acronis Bootable Rescue Media and press F11 key when the selection screen advising you to select either "Full", "Safe" or "Boot into Windows" option appears.
    - After you get the "Linux kernel command line" prompt, remove the word "quiet", click on the OK button and choose "Full Version".

    When the screen stop scrolling please write down the output information you receive (last 5-10 lines), or use a digital camera to make shots of the output screen. You can use Shift+PgUp and Shift+PgDn keys to scroll the screen manually.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.