BOOTCD + Backup Image ----> Howto?!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Phk, Apr 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Phk

    Phk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Hi there guys!

    I wanted to compile a DVD with my .tib backup file and the Acronis TrueImage 8.0 BootCD.

    I tried to get the BootImage from the bootCD with MagicISO, but it only got 2kilobytes....

    How can i do this?

    Thanks,
    Phk
     
  2. Nightcrawler

    Nightcrawler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    This is a template.

    1. Download and install UltraISO

    2. Put your Bootable Acronis True Image CD in the cd-rom drive {create one if you don't have one}.

    3. Launch UltraISO and select the cd drive that has the Bootable Acronis True Image CD, you will see a folder and a single text file. Select Bootable from the menu and select Extract boot file from cd/dvd, save the file to say the desktop.

    4. Find the myfile.bif you just saved and drag to the top pane, also drag the folder at the bottom and the text file to the top pane. The top pane should have these three files:

    a. Recovery Manager folder
    b. mycd.bif
    c. readme.txt


    5. Right click the mycd.bif file and set it as the boot file.


    6. You can save the image as an iso or nrg and keep the image as a template for different partitions and different machines. You then add the .TIB file/files you need to recovery a partition and then select the burn button and burn the DVD. Everything is on a single DVD then. I use DVD+RW media so I can format and change them as time goes by.

    7. Done
     
  3. Phk

    Phk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Well, thanks a LOT! =)
    I tried this method with MagicISO, but the .bif image was 2kb length... no good...

    I'll try it like this, thanks.

    See us around!
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that Acronis True Image doesn't support the option of creating Bootable DVD. The algorythm mentioned above (and any other algorythms as well) are not approved by Acronis. Please use them at your own risk.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  5. Nightcrawler

    Nightcrawler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    I hope the feature gets added in True Image 9.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Having confirmed that this works I now wonder about its practical advantage. What is really different from just booting to the usual Acronis TI CD and then removing that CD (single CD drive) and inserting the DVD containing the tib image files?

    Brian
     
  9. simon_warner

    simon_warner Guest


    Good question! In don't understand this either.
     
  10. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Not a lot but it's one less disk swap and everything's kept together in one place.

    I guess it's the same as why do people climb mountains? Because they're there :).

    Regards
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I'm happy with that answer.

    Brian
     
  12. Nightcrawler

    Nightcrawler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    With lots of machines backed up in a business it's easier having the DVD be bootable, easier to organize.

    For home machines I guess it's no big deal.
     
  13. NLK

    NLK Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I try this method I 've done every step and the dvd didn't boot. I have a non-emulation message when I try to boot on it. Maybe I should look at something special in the dvd iso propreties in UltraISO or maybe it's my media (dvd-r) do you have any idea

    thanks
     
  14. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi NLK,

    Who's procedure did you follow - Nighcrawler's or the more detailed one I posted in the thread titled <How to create bootable rescue DVD(s)>? Also, please advise which DVD recording software you're using.

    Regards
     
  15. NLK

    NLK Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I've tried the 2 methods I follow every steps and the dvd doesn't boot
    I'm using Nero 6.6.0.12 o_O I have no idea My DVD-writer is a toshiba integrated in my notebook, may I try with WinISO o_O :doubt:
     
  16. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    NLK,

    Can you confirm that you're are able to boot your notebook from the "Full" version of the Acronis boot rescue CD?

    Regards
     
  17. NLK

    NLK Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Yes the rescue CD is OK and works great !
     
  18. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    In that case I have no further suggestions other than carefully check all your settings against the three screenshots I posted in the thread linked at #14 above or try the WinISO version instead.

    Regards
     
  19. NLK

    NLK Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I try to make an iso with winISO I boot with my DVD the acronis loader starts but then a boot error happens but it's better. The ISO must have a problem but it still mysterious. I work in computing a bootable DVD will be usefull But I think i'm gonna do a last test with a rescue disc safe. After I'll stop :'(
     
  20. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    If using winISO you need to use either the wdormann's procedure at Post #1 or my updated version at Post #26 in the thread titled <How to create bootable rescue DVD(s)>. Do not use winISO with the procedure detailed in Post #117.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.