Bootable Rescue Media

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Bayman, Oct 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bayman

    Bayman Guest

    I just created a "Bootable Rescue CD RW Disk", however when I restart my computer it does not boot, I have set the Bios to boot from the CDRom as the first priority......

    Also when I check to see what is written to the CD RW there is a Directory called "Recovery Manager", there are no files in the Root of the CD/RW....

    Can someone please advise what if anything I did wrong in creating the Bootable Rescue Disk......

    The version I have is V9.0 build 2289

    Is this a stable versiono_O??


    Anxiously waiting to the guru's response....
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Bayman,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    I recommend you to download the latest build (2302) of Acronis True Image 9.0. In order to get access to updates you should register account on our site (or just log in if you have already created it) and then register your copy of the product. Then please create a new bootable CD and see how it works.

    If the problem remains please boot your computer from the Acronis True Image rescue disc (the full version) and press F11 key when the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears? After you get the "Linux Kernel Settings" prompt, please remove the "quiet" word and click on the OK button. As the startup messages stop scrolling, you can use Shift+PgUp and Shift+PgDn keys in order to scroll the screen manually. Please write down the last few lines of the output, or use a digital camera to make shots of the output screens and send the captured information to Acronis Support along with the link to this thread.

    This will allow us to investigate the problem thoroughly.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  3. thiet

    thiet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Miami Beach
    Hi,

    It seems like I had a similar problem with True Image V9.0 build 2289.

    I followed your suggestion and updated True Image 9.0 to build 2302.
    I burnt a new Bootable Rescue Media (CD-R).

    1) When I reboot (with the BIOS set up to boot from the CD) from the CD and select the full Acronis version, I first get an Acronis splash screen, then lights on my USB hub flicker, then I get a black screen without anything apparently happening.

    2) When I reboot from the CD and press (and keep pressing) F11 when the "Starting Acronis Loader" message is displayed, I get the "Bootmenu" dialog box with a text box labeled "Enter linux kernel command line" and containing "qiet".
    - At this point the current option seems to be the Windows boot (neither the full Acronis option nor the safe Acronis option).
    - I delete "quiet" and click "OK". Nothing happens. The backgound with the 3 options (full, safe, Windows boot) are displayed and the Windows boot option is selected.
    - I select the full Acronis option using the arrow keys, then press F11 again.
    - I get the same "Bootmenu" dialog box with the empty text box. I click "OK" again.
    - I click the full Acronis option in the background.
    - I get the same Acronis splash screen I got without pressing F11, then lights on my USB hub flicker, then I get a black screen without anything apparently happening.

    Your help is appreciated. Thanks.
     
  4. Bayman

    Bayman Guest

    I upgraded to 2302 and I still can't get it to burn a "bootable" cd, it creates a directory called "Recovery Manager", and the boot files are in there....

    I then tried getting bootable rescue disk by using 8 floppies, that worked.....

    Sure wish I could get the bootable cd to work.....
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Bayman and thiet,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure that the USB legacy support is disabled in BIOS settings. If any of your USB devices are connected to the PC through the USB HUB then please connect them directly.

    I would also recommend you to try the "acpi=off noapic" workaround as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    In case Bootable Rescue CD created using build 2302 of Acronis True Image 9.0 still does not boot, please create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If you will not be able to create a sysinfo.txt file for some reasons then please boot from the Acronis True Image 9.0 rescue disc once more and press F11 key when the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears.

    After you get the "Linux Kernel Settings" prompt, please remove the "quiet" word, click on the OK button. As the startup messages stop scrolling please write down the last few lines of the output, or use a digital camera to make shots of the output screens.

    Please also create Acronis Report in the way described below:

    - Download and run Acronis Report Utility;
    - Select the "Create Bootable Floppy" option;
    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the A: drive and proceed with creation of the bootable floppy;
    - Boot the computer from this diskette and wait for report creation process to finish;
    - Collect the report file from the floppy.

    Please create an account, then log in and submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  6. Bayman

    Bayman Guest

    When I try to register my product the following error message comes up....when I try to contact support, I am directed to the same page that I use to register the product.....

    Man o' man, I sure never thought I would have to go through this to get software working.....I wish they had fixed everything up before they offered it to the public

    Please check the following:

    *****-*****-*****-*****-***** — Serial Number is valid but we can't register it right now. Please contact support immediately.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2005
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Bayman,

    Please be aware that you should never post any of your serial numbers on a public forums like this. That is the reason whay I have deleted it from your message.

    However, the serial number you have provided is invalid\illegal and thus can not be registered. Could you please tell me where did you get it?

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  8. Bayman

    Bayman Guest

    I bought it from ebay
     
  9. Bayman

    Bayman Guest

    Can you please advise where I go from here, how do I get this problem fixed, are you going to provide support for this program that I bought.....
     
  10. drpenl

    drpenl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Missouri
    I too had a problem with the Bootable Rescue Media. I backed up my system using build 2289 and also created a new rescue media at the same time.

    I attempted to use the clone feature of Acronis True Image 9.0, and yes, I did use the Microsoft utility suggested before I did the clone. I tried the clone and the rescue media would not boot. It appeared to lock up while analyzing the hard drive and my mouse would not work. I then rebooted and attempted it again, this time not using the wireless mouse but using the wired keyboard only. Again my PC locked up after Acronis True Image 9.0 was analyzing the hard drive. I tried this many times, and finally realized the software was junk and never was going to work.

    I have a Windows XP Pro SP2 system with two SATA drives and 3 optical burners. I DVD burner attached to the primary IDE controller and 1 DVD burner and 1 CD burner attached to secondary IDE controller. I don't know if Acronis can handle my hardware configuration, or if there is another problem. All I know is I can copy DVD's and CD's, so they shouldn't have any problems. I don't have any interrupt errors, so there has to be something wrong elsewhere.

    Acronis is really turning out some bad stuff now, so I beleive they have really had a quality hit in recent months.
     
  11. Bayman

    Bayman Guest

    You can say that again, this is my first program with Aconis, I see from their website that they have a number of supposedly good products, before I buy another one of their products they will have to get the True Image up and running properly......Sad when you pay good dollars for a product and one have's so much problems....

    Hope that they stand behind their products.......then again only time will tell....
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Bayman,

    I understand the reason why you are upset. However, as I have already said, the license (serial number) you bought is a fake. You will never be able to register your software using that serial number.

    I strongly recommend you to request a full refund from the people who sold you Acronis software illegaly and then purchase the valid license in our online store or from one of our official resellers or retail stores.

    After you will purchase the software, please do as I have suggested in my post #5.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello drpen,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please download and install the latest build (2302) of Acronis True Image 9.0 which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    Please create new Bootable Rescue CD after installing the update, boot your PC from this CD and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists with the latest build (2302) of Acronis True Image 9.0 then please do as I have suggested in my previous post #5. We will certainly try to help you.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  14. Bayman

    Bayman Guest

    Alexey Popov,

    Is there a trial version of True Image that I can download, and then work on that copy until we get the Bootable CD issue solved....Then upon getting this solved I will then pay for my serial in order to continue and use the True Image program......

    I have already uninstalled the program that I bought off of Fleabay(ebay) and deleted all files connected with that copy......

    Can you please advise, as I don't want to go to Norton......

    Thanks
     
  15. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Attached USB hubs have been causing some people problems. If you have one or any other USB devices attached, (like wireless usb mouse/keyboard) remove them - use standard devices - and try the boot CD again.
     
  16. Bayman

    Bayman Guest

    I have a wireless mouse and keyboard, I removed it and used the standard ones, tried to create a bootable cd, results were the same, it created a directory called "recovery manager" and all the files were in that directory, no files were in the root of the cd........
     
  17. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    The only items visible on the bootable cd are a folder called Recovery Manager and a readme.txt.

    In the folder are these 6 files: bootmenu.exe, bootwiz.sys, f11.cfg, kernel.dat, mouse.com, ramdisk.dat.

    If you have those then your bootable CD is correct. Have you tried putting the CD in another computer to see if it will boot?
     
  18. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Bayman,

    Did you ever try Acronis Support's suggestion, namely, boot from the rescue CD and press F11 when you see "Starting Acronis loader..." to enter the "Linux Kernal Settings" prompt then after the word Quiet add the words acpi=off no apic and then click "O.K." ??

    Regards
     
  19. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    I don't think Bayman can even get to that point. Something is strange with his system when it comes to a bootable CD.
     
  20. Bayman

    Bayman Guest

    The only time I get the option to press F11 is when I reboot my computer, at the end just before my computer boots in Windows mode it Says:

    "Press F11 for Acronis startup recovery manager"
     
  21. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Bayman,

    I'm glad to hear that you got rid of that illegal copy.

    Please download and install the free trial version of Acronis True Image 9.0, create new Bootable Rescue CD and do as I have suggested in my post #5.

    Please also make sure that you set the proper boot sequence in your BIOS settings. CD-ROM should be the first boot device.

    Note that, as I have already mentioned above, you should press F11 button when your PC starts to boot from CD and the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears on the screen.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  22. drpenl

    drpenl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Missouri
    I really don't feel comfortable following directions to follow the instructions in item #5 that says:

    "After you get the "Linux kernel command line" prompt, please modify it in the following way: quiet acpi=off noapic"

    I have a Windows XP Pro SP2 PC, not a Linux machine. If you provide instructions for a Windowx machine, I would attempt to follow them, but I don't feel comfortable weeding out what is a Linux instruction versus a Windows instruction.

    Can you provide more clarification?

    Also, I don't understand why I need to disable USB legacy support. I didn't need to make that change with True Image 8. Has something been done in True Image 9 that requires this change?
     
  23. BugVic

    BugVic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    13
    If you boot to a CD, you're in whatever OS is on the CD (not necessarily Windows). As it happens, the Acronis bootable CD is Linux-based, thus the reference to Linux commands.
     
  24. Bayman

    Bayman Guest

    Alexey Popov

    I downloaded the trial version, installed it, and I cannot still create a bootable CD...

    I have created the report.txt and sysinfo.txt files as per #5 above....
    however, when I try to contact Acronis Customer Service I am unable to enter in the True Image as I have not bought it at this point and will not buy it until I am assured it is working, Also in the attachments part of contacting customer service I want to attach 2 files, how do I do that, it will only accept 1....
     
  25. bbird

    bbird Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Can you send me info on how you created the boot CD? Did you make it so you have the option to choose either type? I am using True Image Server 8 for Windows.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.