Bootable rescue media doesn't detect dvd writer as backup location

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jjbtnc, Feb 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jjbtnc

    jjbtnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    Hello

    In TI10 under the windows program my dvd writer is listed as a possible backup location.

    Using the bootable cd it creates - the bootable rescue media, my dvd writer is not listed in the backup locations.
    If i select to backup my data as opposed to the whole computer then my dvd drives are listed under the source (they're listed as cd drives but when running TI in windows they're listed as dvd-ram etc) but again when i've moved on a few stages to the select backup location they are not listed anywhere.

    Can you only write an image to a dvd or cd when using the windows TI and not from the bootable cd?

    Or is it a case that MY bootable cd can't detect the dvd writer properly - something to do with driver support under linux?

    I wasn't planning to use the dvd writing function but never say never! At the moment i have 2 hard drives so i can copy to the other but i might be down to one soon and not have that option.

    In the past i used ghost from a bootable dos floppy or cd and it always detected my drives and i used to really like doing it straight to dvd or cd - it worked every time backing up and restoring, quick, and saved space on my hard drive.

    if it is a driver issue with the linux boot cd is there any way round it?

    my hardware is nothing exotic - all my hard drives and dvd drives are connected via ide and not sata or raid - motherboard is a asus a7n8x-e deluxe, writer is LG dvd-ram 4167b


    EDIT - i know this isn't the correct forum but does anybody know of a good forum for Partition magic 8 questions?
     
  2. bogar51

    bogar51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Build 3886 solved my problem...it was the same...
    Download it!
    rgards Bogar51
     
  3. jjbtnc

    jjbtnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    I have build 4871 - so i should go back?

    Where do you download different versions from? Is there somewhere on the acronis site that shows a version history - what's been fixed/added
     
  4. bogar51

    bogar51 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I have got ATI Workstation 3854, with the same symptoms, you have, upgraded it to 3886 and it helped...
     
  5. jjbtnc

    jjbtnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    I knew i should have got that version!! :rolleyes: I have the latest build of Home10, not going to buy anything else!!

    Anyway not much i can do now, i might give the Bart's PE another go - had consistent failures building it before but i've got nothing else to do today!!
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2007
  6. jjbtnc

    jjbtnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    57
  7. aggronix

    aggronix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    It depends on the actual build and on the type of your external dvd. Please read my thread :"Backing to DVD (from Rescue Media) depends on Type of DVD Burner" https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=165481

    We all should demand a list of working dvd burners (in the linux environment) from the support. :cautious: There are some!

    regards, aggronix.
     
  8. jjbtnc

    jjbtnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    yerah - sod's law really.

    I thought i wouldn't have any problems as Ghost never had problems detecting my dvd writers and the dvd drive is an internal, connected via ide/pata - nothing weird or exotic!

    I'll give support a bell, but just use Ghost if i have to do direct to dvd.


    EDIT - in that thread you mention build 4929 - i thought my 4871 was the latest as shown here

    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/
     
  9. jjbtnc

    jjbtnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    I submitted a support request just to find out the situation - not sure how long it'll take.
     
  10. jjbtnc

    jjbtnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    Just a quick update

    they sent me an iso of the bootable media for TI10 home build 4927 - and it does detect my dvd writer as a backup location! Haven't gone all the way in using it but it wasn't even detected before!!
     
  11. aggronix

    aggronix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Fine jjbtnc!

    Would you please tell us which external dvd writer you have? I have the same problem but it wasn't solved with the new build here. My writer isn't supported.

    thx in advance !
    aggronix.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=945724#post945724

     
  12. jjbtnc

    jjbtnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    It's not external which is why i was so surprised it wasn't detected. Just an internal Lg dvd-ram 4167b connected to a inde/pata port - no sata or raid
     
  13. aggronix

    aggronix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    oops! That's an enhancement to my problem ;)

    My external hp writer is recognized for reading but not as a writing device. And it's also a dvd-ram type like yours. As far as i know HP does not produce those devices, an I have the strong suspicion it is also made by LG (the power supply is).

    I suppose either the linux kernel isn't able to handle dvd-ram devices or it's not capable to handle LG devices.

    regards, aggronix.
     
  14. jjbtnc

    jjbtnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    Have you thought about trying the demo of true image 9 workstation?

    Not sure if you're trying a trial of home10 that can be uninstalled, or if a trial of workstation can be installed on a pc with a full home10, or if you're happy to uninstall home10 to try the ver9 workstation (if you try make sure you find out!) - but might be worth a shot just to see if ver9 workstation can see your external drive, though if it did not sure where you'd go from there.

    Do you/friend/familly have a pc you could try a trial of workstation on so you don't risk messing up your current setup?
     
  15. aggronix

    aggronix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    we are at cross-purposes ;)

    Every works fine if I install the software but I won't / can't do this. My focus is only the rescue media with its linux environment.
     
  16. jjbtnc

    jjbtnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    What i meant was - you make the bootable media from the program installed in windows - if you make it from an installed version of TI 9.1 Workstation instead of an installed version of TI 10 Home, maybe there is a difference?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.