Bootable CD to nothing! please help!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MarieBoyer, Feb 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MarieBoyer

    MarieBoyer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    45
    I downloaded and registered the trial version. I followed the instructions from helpers on this forum -- to create bootable CD.

    I created the bootable CD. That was a snap.

    I then stuck my CD into the CD drive. Turned off computer and restarted. Got the Acronis selection screen and chose full option. Now all I see is a blank computer screen.

    1. Best way to exit from this blank screen?

    2. What might I have done wrong? Should I just try again to create the bootable CD and start over from there? If so, can someone tell me best steps after I create the CD? (creating the CD is a snap)
     
  2. MarieBoyer

    MarieBoyer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    45
    Okay, I removed the CD and shut my computer down.

    Before even turning my computer back on, I better get some basic advice.

    From here on, I will wait to hear from you on my first post.

    p.s.
    I have XP Pro/Pent 4/3.0 ghz/1 gig RAM
     
  3. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Boot with the CD again and choose the Safe option and see if that works.
     
  4. MarieBoyer

    MarieBoyer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    45
    When you say "safe option" -- is this something I will see at that Acronic screen? (where I originally selected full option?)

    Before I do anything, is it worth it to ask whether I need to boot to CD through the BIOS settings? (I know not how to do this; I have just seen it described as one way to boot from a rescue CD.) Instead of this, I simply loaded my CD while in Windows, turned off the computer and restarted with CD still in the tray.

    I want to make sure you have no further advice before I try this again.

    Thanks for your patience. I am quite nervous doing this for the first time.
     
  5. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Hi MarieBoyer,

    Nice to read you again. If you bought that USB drive to store the images, the Safe option proposed by Chutsman here my turn out to be mighty slow. It certainly is on my setup.

    But you have at least two more workarounds to try: the "acpi=off noapic" routine and the special Acronis' drivers download. Please see the FAQ sticky for details. There has been also a very recent post here describing the solution to the same (?) problem. The special drivers helped in that case, I think.

    If TI didn't send off any alarming messages when burning the Rescue CD, you may consider the CD sound and well and seek solution in other directions.

    PS: If you come to the selection screen with the three options (Full - Safe - Boot Windows), your BIOS is set up correctly to boot from CD and you don't need to alter anything there.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2006
  6. MarieBoyer

    MarieBoyer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    45
    Hi BVolk. Thanks for jumping back on.

    I booted in "safe" mode and it worked!

    I found my maxtor hard drive in the archive (just as you suggested).

    The only difference is that Acronis gave it a new initial (it is an "H:" drive in my computer but it is an "E:" drive in Acronis).

    Mind a couple of questions:

    1. So, now that it works in "safe" mode, do I need to do anything further to get ti to run in the "highly recommended" full option? Or can I just always use the safe mode? I guess before I purchase the full version of Acronis, I want to make sure I will get full use of the product.


    2. I am fine with making an image from CD. Should I also try burning one to my Maxtor external drive?

    Thanks so much for all help!
     
  7. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    MarieBoyer,

    I would suggest this test sequence.

    Running TI from Windows, create an image of your system disk, using the external Maxtor as destination. Still in Windows, check the image with Check Archive tool. Note the time taken to perform the check.

    Now boot from Rescue CD, select Safe version and start the Check Archive tool again. Find the external Maxtor (don't mind the changed drive names, they come from your being temporarily operating from Linux. Windows, later, will show the correct names again) and perform the image check again. If the time needed is three times or more than that for the first check, you won't be happy with the Safe version, so you better review the workaround options I mentioned earlier to try and enable the Full version.

    Your external Maxtor will be your regular storage for images, so it should run smoothly. When creating images, you will be accessing Maxtor from Windows (no problems here), but to restore the system disk, you need to access Maxtor from Rescue CD and you don't want any surprises at that point.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2006
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello MarieBoyer,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    What concerns your last questions, please follow bVolk's recommendations.

    As for the inability to boot into the Full version of Acronis True Image 9.0 Bootable Rescue CD, first of all please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If that does not help then please do the following:

    - Boot the computer from Bootable Rescue CD created using the free trial version of Acronis True Image 9.0 and press F11 key when the selection screen advising you to choose either "Full", "Safe" or "Boot into Windows" option appears;

    - After you get the "Linux Kernel Settings" prompt, please remove the "quiet" word, click on the OK button and choose the "Full" option;

    - As the startup messages stop scrolling please write down the last few lines of the output, or use a digital camera to make a shots of the output screens.

    Please also create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please submit a request for technical support using Ask a question before you purchase Acronis software link. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution as soon as possible.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2006
  9. MarieBoyer

    MarieBoyer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    45
    bVolk:

    First, thank you for your help. I SO appreciate it!

    I did all steps you suggested.

    In Windows, it took 16 minutes to verify the archive of my maxtor drive.

    I then booted from the rescue CD, hit safe mode, and found the file in my maxtor drive. But when I went to check the archive, Acronis told me that I "cannot perform that function" in the trial version. So, I guess I have to have the full version to do that final step you described in your last post.

    Can I ask you 2 more questions:

    1. When I order the full version and install it, do I have to make a whole new rescue CD? Or can I just keep the one I made in the trial version? How often should I make a new rescue CD?

    2. When I install the full version, do I have to uninstall the trial version? Is that easy? (just use the control panel?)

    You are my here this month! This forum is so great. Thanks again for your help thus far!
     
  10. MarieBoyer

    MarieBoyer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Posts:
    45
    Oooops. I just saw the post from Mr. Popov. I will try his suggestions too. I will do so after work today.

    I would still love to know the answer to my other questions though, if you are so inclined.
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello MarieBoyer,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    You should create the new bootable rescue media with the full version of Acronis True Image 9.0 since the bootable rescue media created with the trial version has Recovery feature only.

    We recommend you to recreate the bootable rescue media with the latest released build as it has better hardware support and includes drivers for a new hardware.

    Yes, you should uninstall previously installed trial version by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image, prior to installing build 2337.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  12. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    So, MarieBoyer,

    Here you have a good sample of Acronis' support level. Nothing to moan about, is there?

    Don't be put off by the fact you couldn't perform that speed comparison with the trial version. The right way to go is to try and get the Full option working, anyway. Alexey gave you the links you need. I'm confident you'll succeed to set that straight.

    Please post about your progress, you'll help other users who may have the same problem.

    I'm looking forward to see you join the club for real. It sure makes for peace of mind being able to restore the system disk. After checking that it works on your machine, of course.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.