Bootable Backup In VISTA

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by JEFF1964, May 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JEFF1964

    JEFF1964 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I need to back up my entire computer, i have tried with Acronis TI10 but my back up seems not to be bootable, what am i doing wrong as i am new to this.

    Can any body email me instruction on what to do

    Thanks in advance

    Jeff
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Give some more details ... what build of Acronis True Image, is there an error message on the non-booting drive? Is it the infamous winload.exe error?
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2007
  3. Aeridyne

    Aeridyne Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    I have had this problem too. Actually I have just started working with Vista and have already had no less than 3 different machines get totally hosed.

    The problem is anytime that vista is moved anywhere it will freak out.

    Three examples...

    1) used gparted on a disk that had 2 partitions, xp and vista. just borrowed space from the xp to make the vista part. bigger, no probs in gparted, but when reboot vista comes up and says that it needs to run recovery and insert the disk, xp boots fine. Put in the vista disk, it runs, and says it fixed something, the vista boot loader comes up now, but when vista boots it comes up to the login, then the desktop only loads to a blue screen with a mouse pointer, but you can run task manager and use the run command to run things, its just the desktop that is messed up...

    2) On my own machine, I installed xp and vista to 2 seperate partitions. Then I used acronis to make backups, when restored in place to the existing partitions it worked ok, but if you delete the partitions and make new ones of nearly identical size (9.997 gb to 10 gb) the restored images will not boot. Neither of the OSs will load, no boot loader, just straight to a black screen with a blinking cursor

    3) My friend joe's machine. He simply wanted to take a 300 gig drive and clone it to a 500 gig drive, so he used clone disk, seemed to work ok, but again neither OS would boot. Using the vista recovery does nothing, using the xp recovery to fixboot and fixmbr gets xp booting, but no longer has a boot loader to choose between the two of course, tried to muck around with bcdedit.exe and didn't get anywhere, don't know how to fix vista?


    Thats my predicament... xp transfers disk easily, but it doesn't seem like vista does... Anyone got any fixes for any of these? Or maybe a nice gui for bcdedit considering it is so hard to use and is way beyond me?

    thanks.
     
  4. Aeridyne

    Aeridyne Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    I have had this problem too. Actually I have just started working with Vista and have already had no less than 3 different machines get totally hosed.

    The problem is anytime that vista is moved anywhere it will freak out.

    Three examples...

    1) used gparted on a disk that had 2 partitions, xp and vista. just borrowed space from the xp to make the vista part. bigger, no probs in gparted, but when reboot vista comes up and says that it needs to run recovery and insert the disk, xp boots fine. Put in the vista disk, it runs, and says it fixed something, the vista boot loader comes up now, but when vista boots it comes up to the login, then the desktop only loads to a blue screen with a mouse pointer, but you can run task manager and use the run command to run things, its just the desktop that is messed up...

    2) On my own machine, I installed xp and vista to 2 seperate partitions. Then I used acronis to make backups, when restored in place to the existing partitions it worked ok, but if you delete the partitions and make new ones of nearly identical size (9.997 gb to 10 gb) the restored images will not boot. Neither of the OSs will load, no boot loader, just straight to a black screen with a blinking cursor

    3) My friend joe's machine. He simply wanted to take a 300 gig drive and clone it to a 500 gig drive, so he used clone disk, seemed to work ok, but again neither OS would boot. Using the vista recovery does nothing, using the xp recovery to fixboot and fixmbr gets xp booting, but no longer has a boot loader to choose between the two of course, tried to muck around with bcdedit.exe and didn't get anywhere, don't know how to fix vista?


    Thats my predicament... xp transfers disk easily, but it doesn't seem like vista does... Anyone got any fixes for any of these? Or maybe a nice gui for bcdedit considering it is so hard to use and is way beyond me?

    thanks.
     
  5. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
  6. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Have a look at this thread Vista: Are there issues with the disk ID?
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    BootIT NG has a built in Vista BCD editor if you use it to multi-boot.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.