Boot Problems from Clone HDD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by fun Gogh, Sep 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fun Gogh

    fun Gogh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hello,

    i have a system with Windows Server 2003 R2 and Acronis True Image Enterprise Server 9.1.
    I cloned the system on a external USB HDD. My Problem is that i can't boot from the USB HDD. But there is no message or something. It starts to boot the 2003 System but after a few seconds it reboots.
    I hope that you can help me...

    greetz

    fun Gogh
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Is it known that Windows Server is able to boot from a USB drive? I know that the regular Windows (Home or Pro) cannot do that.
     
  3. fun Gogh

    fun Gogh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    good question - but i think it's possible...
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Try putting the drive from the external enclosure in place of the internal drive and see if it boots.
     
  5. fun Gogh

    fun Gogh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    i'll try roday...
     
  6. fun Gogh

    fun Gogh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    that was not the problem. i also have the prolem when i the hdd in place of the internal drive...
     
  7. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    check your "partition ID" drive letters. More than likely the source windows has the external hard drive "partition ID" in it's registry. When restored that cause the problem you encountered.

    example
    source hard drive = windows mounted device c:, (partition ID c: ) external hard drive partition ID e:
    restored drive = windows mounted device c:, (partition ID e: )

    The "partition ID" mismatch is what cause the problems.
     
  8. fun Gogh

    fun Gogh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    But how can i change it? When I had earlier tried - it was automatically that the external was the c: partition?
     
  9. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.