boot problem

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by frank47, Dec 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. frank47

frank47 Registered Member

Hi, Having problem booting. Computer does not recognize primary drive 0,which is hard drive c.After 1 min message says can't find pri.drive 1.Which on setup it is listed as unknown.How can I change my hard drive to show up on pri.1,instead of 0. I hope this makes sense,I'm a novice. .Or is there another solution?OS XP home.

2. frank47

Does this help

Attached Files:

3. frank47

this is what i get.

Attached Files:

4. iceni60

iceni60 ( ^o^)

you could try a live cd knoppix or ubce4win and try editting/checking the BOOT.INI which holds that infomation.

5. frank47

Thanks ice,but I have know idea what you said.

6. iceni60

iceni60 ( ^o^)

***EDIT*** read the last paragraph first
    hi, sorry i was in a hurry to catch a train. unless someone else comes along with a better idea i think you should try to get to the file on your hard drive which holds the information about your hard drive/s. if that file holds the wrong information it's possible you'll be in exactly the situation you are in now - not being able to boot.

1, you'll need a working PC
    2, a fast internet connection
    3, and a cd/dvd rewriter

although if you don't have the above you can get the cd through the post instead of downloading it and burning to cd.

and i suppose it would be best if the pc you are trying to repair isn't really old or something really new, because the Live cd will have to be compatible with it. it's not able to be compatible with everything so the more average your broken pc the better.

so the live cd is an Operating System which lives on a cd instead of a HDD. you'll boot from the cd and mount your OS on your HDD, that just means it will read some files and gain entery to your operation system. from there you can access what you need until it's fixed.