Boot Into Safe Mode In Windows 10

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Hadron, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    I have read many websites about booting into Safe Mode or Safe Mode with Command Prompt, but they suggest F8 or Shift+F8, but they don't work.

    I know how to get into Safe Mode or Safe Mode with Command Prompt from Windows, but how do you do it if your computer won't boot into Windows and don't have a Windows 10 disc or UFD? :isay:
     
  2. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    1,633
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    You have to press F8 extra fast with Windows 10, from my experience. I use that method quite often while Windows into booting.
     
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
  5. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    Thanks guys.
    But, what if I can't get into Windows to make those changes?
     
  6. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    Maybe you can fix your problems by creating a recovery drive on another Windows 10 computer.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2016
  7. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Can you still access Windows 10 Recovery Options? Try Troubleshoot > Advanced Options > Command Prompt.

    Then switch to your Windows system drive (not C:\, use "dir" to double -check) and try those commands.
     
  8. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    359
    On the log-in screen, hold "shift" key and reboot. Keep holding that key.
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I think Hadron wants to access Safe Mode if the computer can't get to the login screen. The F8 method doesn't work in any of my computers.
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    You got it, Brian. :thumb:
     
  11. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,281
  12. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    on my Asus machine with win 10 i hit f9 and it goes into a menu of recovery options including safe mode.
     
  13. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
  14. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    @Brummelchen That won't help if the computer is not bootable, which is what @Hadron was aking about.
     
  15. Zorak

    Zorak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    Australian Capital Territory
  16. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2016
  17. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    @Hadron It has worked for me in the past. Did you wait until Windows had started booting before holding down the power button?
     
  18. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    I can try again.
     
Loading...