Boot CD won't detect newer hard drives coming out

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by countryboy, Jan 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. countryboy

    countryboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Hi,

    A friend of mine is using Acronis True Image Workstation 9.1.3718 along with the Universal Restore plugin.

    He has used an image of Windows XP Professional for different desktops and laptops.

    I am intrigued by Acronis, and am thinking of buying the product myself, but before I do I have a concern.

    Recently, my friend got several new laptops in with the newer SATA hard drives which are AHCI compliant and his Acronis Boot CD would not detect the newer SATA hard drives.

    All newer laptops are coming with Windows Vista Pre-installed but some times companies will want to downgrade to Windows XP Professional for many reasons such as network compatability etc.

    My friend and I figured out how to downgrade to Windows XP Professioanl by downloading the Intel Matrix Storage and when installing Windows XP Professional press F6 and have the Intel Matrix Storage drivers on floppy and now the new SATA drives were detected!

    However, we were never able to get the new SATA hard drives to be recognized with the Acronis True Image Workstation 9.1.3718 with the Universal Restore plugin boot cd.

    The problem is we have the necessary Intel Matrix Storage drivers but where you have the drivers to be recognized from the Acronis Boot CD is after the hard drive is recognized which doesn't help because we need the drivers so the boot cd will recognize the newer hard drives.

    As I'm thinking of buying Acronis will the new Acronis 9.5 True Image Echo Workstation fix this problem of newer hard drives not being detected?

    Also, is there something I should tell my friend that he may need to do in order to get the Acronis True Image Workstation 9.1.3718 with the Universal Restore plugin boot cd to recognize these newer SATA hard drives?


    There must be a way as new hardware is introduced on the market such as these newer SATA hard drives that you can add these drivers to the Acronis Boot CD which would make sense because how good is a product if it can't detect past, present and future hard drives as well as other hardware! Hardware changes way too fast for this not to be an option.

    Thanks!
     
  2. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Your answer is to make a BartPE or VistaPE boot CD with my True Image plugin that supports Universal Restore. See the website in my signature for all the information you need.
     
  3. countryboy

    countryboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    So there is no way that you can add drivers to the Acronis 9.1.3718 with Universal Restore True Image Workstation Boot CD?

    Also, I would think that with the new Acronis 9.5 True Image Echo Workstation would fix the problem with newer hard drives not being recognizedo_O

    What is the point of buying Acronis when the Boot CD doesn't support newer hard drives, the ability to add drivers so that newer hard drives and other new hardware can get detected etc...

    I guess I won't be purchasing Acronis after all!

    Thanks Mustand for your help!
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis Disk Backup software

    countryboy, I'm afraid that there is no way to add new drivers to Acronis Bootable Media (except Bart PE based media) manually, but our Development Team adding new drivers for new hardware in every new build they are releasing. If you have the latest version and your hardware is not supported by Acronis Bootable Rescue Media you should contact our Support Team and they would create custom bootable media for you (and this fix will be included in the next build).

    Thank you.
    --
    Michael Levchenko
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    And if that doesn't work, then you can make a VistaPE disk and end all the bother ;-)
     
  6. paulimmoos

    paulimmoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    I have better luck when I make the boot disk from the machine that I want to boot from the disk. For example the boot disk for my workstations won't recognize the SAS drives in my servers, but I burn the disc in the server then boot with it and it recognizes the SAS drives.
     
  7. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Anybody else have a similar experience? The general impression has been that the boot CD is machine independent.
     
  8. ozjeff99

    ozjeff99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    Mustang I have had trouble trying to make a VistaPE disk after downloading script and following guide. Where can I get support?
    Thanks
     
  9. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    Describe your problem and what steps you have taken and I'll try to help you.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.