Boot CD Still not working.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Robmonster, Jun 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Robmonster

    Robmonster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Hi there,

    I have been PM-ed the link to the latest build of the boot CD.

    It still doesnt work for me.

    I get the following error appear shortly after the Aronic Logo that says "Loading"

    "ohci1394_0 SelfID received outside of bus reset sequence."

    At the moment I have NO way of restoring an image as the Boot manager hangs and this latest boot CD doesnt work.

    What can be done?

    Rob Sharp
     
  2. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Is your image on a firewire drive?
    If not, unplug any firewire device before proceeding.
     
  3. Robmonster

    Robmonster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    No firewire devices. I havent got as far as restoring an image file. This error occurs before the boot cd has finished loading.
     
  4. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Assuming that you've already tried pressing F11 when the Boot CD starts up and appending "acpi=off noapic" to you kernel parameters and that doesn't work, then perhaps try disabling firewire in your BIOS. (If it's onboard firewire)
     
  5. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Robmonster

    Just a thought make sure you unplug your modem.

    And turn off any printers [HP's can be a real pest] and scanners.

    Might help. :doubt:

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  6. Robmonster

    Robmonster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    wierd, I didnt recieve any notification of new replies.....

    I didt realise you could press F11 during the boot CD startup. I'll try it. Is this documented somewhere? What other options are there?

    I dont have any printers plugged in and the modem is a USB DSL modem. I'll also try disabling firewire in the bios. (Not sure if my mobo even has it as I do not use firewire)

    RM
     
  7. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    The options aren't anything specific to the Acronis software.
    These are Linux kernel options. If you can't get to the point where the Acronis TI software loads up, then it's a Linux problem. As for what Linux kernel boot options are available, try this for starters. Several of those may be Redhat-specific, though.

    I believe you want to append the options onto the existing "quiet" option.
    In my experience, if quiet isn't there you are dumped to the shell prompt, where you would need to do some things manually to get into the TI software.
     
  8. selvan777

    selvan777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Folsom, CA. US
    Hi Robmonster,

    You can read about the F11 and other options in the User Guides found here.
     
  9. Robmonster

    Robmonster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Disableing Firewire in my BIOS seems to have done the trick, both with Recovery Manager and the Boot CD.

    As for trhe documentaion the only reference to F11 I could find using the Adobe search feature was with regards to the Recovery Manager.

    I'm still left wondering why I didnt get a email from the official support channel suggesting turning this bios feature off?

    Thanks for all the help you people gave me, I appreciate it.

    Rob
     
  10. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    That's because we're better than official support! :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.