Boot CD problem - IBM ThinkPad

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ohpossum, Nov 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ohpossum

    ohpossum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    South Central Missouri
    Just installed ATI ver. 9 (sorry, don't know build, not at work, will check for updates tomorrow) on an IBM ThinkPad T41(?) running WinXP Pro.

    Install successful, created image on network drive, created Boot CD (successfully?), Tried CD before HDD (60gb) removal and was able to go as far as navigating network to look for image.
    Backed out and installed new (80gb) HDD.

    Have set BIOS to force CD boot as first choice. During bootup no option to choose CD and boot stops with "No operating system found" message.

    During boot with original HDD had option to use "Access IBM" button and choose CD from graphic screen.
    Guessing this is loaded from HDD partition as no option is allowed with new HDD.

    Have gathered from previous posts that this is a Linux boot disk, so doesn't appear as a DOS type when viewing Boot CD form MS-Explorer.

    Have a short time frame to make the swap and user needed Laptop back for the evening before I could do any further troubleshooting. Installed original HDD and returned it to user til tomorrow a.m. Have no 2.5 adapters or would try cloning.

    Would appreciate any pointers.

    oh'
     
  2. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Try the boot CD in another system. If it works then I see no reason that it shouldn't work on the Thinkpad with the new HD.
     
  3. ohpossum

    ohpossum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    South Central Missouri
    Tried CD in another laptop, booted ok. Installed new drive in it and booted ok.
    Currently restoring image...slooowly.

    Am curious if new drive will have a 60gb partition like the old, with another at 20gb, or will all 80 be seen as one. This user wouldn't know what to do with an "extra" drive letter thrown in.

    This will just be practice since I didn't have access to his computer today, and will likely have to re-image to catch the changes he's bound to have made.

    Thanks for the input Chutsman. I may revisit this with new thread if additional issues arise. For now, it's lke my motorcycle-when it runs, it runs good...

    oh'
     
  4. ohpossum

    ohpossum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    South Central Missouri
    Image transfer to new HDD in different Laptop was successful, though had to repeat process to select proper setting that would allow use of entire new HDD partition.

    oh'
     
  5. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Actually I would not have restored the image from the Thinkpad on to this second laptop, unless, of course you only wanted to test the "new" hard drive you were going to put in the Thinkpad. Anyway it worked. So there must be something wrong in the Thinkpad when it comes to booting from a boot cd.

    Can you make a standard boot CD, say, using Nero and then try it on the Thinkpad. Use a rewriteable CD so you can reuse it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.