Boot CD Not Working

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by poleary2000, Jul 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. poleary2000

    poleary2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Hi there. Currently using Acronis True Image 11 v8053. I have been using this version since November without an issue. I have booted from this CD many times. When doing so, I always had used a USB keyboard and USB mouse.

    I recently bought a wireless keyboard and wireless mouse from Logitech. They interface with the computer via a USB connection (not Bluetooth). Ever since I started using these, my TI Boot CD will not work. So, I figured it must be an issue with the Linux drivers so I plugged my old periperals back in. Same problem. I did some searching and followed the READ THIS POST FIRST. I am not able to get the Boot CD to show me the Linux codes on the screen to send to Acronis when I turn Quite off. Instead, it shows the Acronis hand holding screen and then does nothing.

    I need some serious help here. If I can't restore with Acronis, I have no idea what I will do.

    Thanks in advance.
    Patrick
     
  2. poleary2000

    poleary2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    The only other thing I can think of that I did (which now I realize could be pretty big), is the installation of a new Intel Chipset thing from Dell.com. I believe I have the IChR9 (or whatever one was causing the problem for others on here). Maybe that did it??
     
  3. poleary2000

    poleary2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    TI 11 will not even open when I try to load it in Windows.
     
  4. poleary2000

    poleary2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Well, I got the Windows version to load and restore an old image (before the chipset update, etc.). I will let you know what happens.
     
  5. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Paris
    I had the same problem with a Microsoft wireless set (specifically Desktop Elite on Acronis Server ver 10). It just won't work. I had to use the USB to PS/2 connector, and even then on the initial screen the mouse pointer would just disappear but the keyboard would function. The subsequent screen let me use both keyboard and mouse.

    Never was able to find a solution for the problem, but at least I can get I to work. Love the product but support was useless.
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You can try the usbmouse=off Linux parameter (F11 at the Acronis menu) and see if it helps. It will sometimes allow certain mouse/keyboard setups to work.

    Also check the BIOS for a Legacy USB option and try it enbabled if it's disabled.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello poleary2000 and cruelsister,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please make sure you use the latest build (8101) of Acronis True Image 11 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If the latest build doesn't solve the problem, please check the USB Legacy Support setting in computer BIOS and change it's value.

    If the issue persists, please submit a request for technical support. Attach all information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will do our best to investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.