Boot cd fails?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Lindpop, Sep 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lindpop

    Lindpop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I run Acronis 11 latest update.
    I made a bootable cd and tried to see if it works.
    This is what i did.

    Changed bootdrive in bios to my dvd-player. The bootcd starts to boot. I tused full acronis or what it says.
    this is the screen after 5-10 minutes.

    Disabling IRQ20
    No raid disks
    Reading all physical volumes this may take a while
    /dev/sda:Read failed after 0 of 4096 at 0:unknown error 5

    Whats wrong?
    I´m very thankfull for your help
    I have my backup on a usb-drive
    I tried to ways. First I had it connected when the computer booted up and then I tried to connect it when the boot cd had started and you tuse what to do.
    I´m running xp-pro
    Could it have something to do with my memory? I have 4gb
    Kind regards
    Lindpop
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2008
  2. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Does it start without the USB drive?

    You can try following:
    At the point when you can choose 'fullbackup, etc', press F11-key.
    In the commandline put in command "quiet acpi=off noapic" (without quotes)
    Press OK button and choose 'fullbackup'.
     
  3. Lindpop

    Lindpop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    No it´s still the same errors
    There are many lines of the same/similar message.
    the difference is in the numbers.
    One line is 500 another 2000 and so on.
    Lindpop
     
  4. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    OK, you just started without USB drive and the same error.

    It seems an internal HDD is not readable.

    How is your hdd equipment:
    - number of devices
    - how many partitions on every device
    - where is the hdd connected (IDE1/2 + master/slave, SATA1, SATA2,...)

    You can try to start Knoppix or the manufacturer-tool to check the hdd(s).
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Lindpop,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. To expedite the resolution we recommend you to use our Live Chat service after that. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.