Boot capsule hidden partition

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Anderson2, Jul 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Anderson2

    Anderson2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Posts:
    44
    I am running W7 Home premium 64 bit on which I have installed Paragon Backup & Restore 10.2 Free 64 bit.

    Whenever I reboot my PC I get a brief message about clicking "F6 to enter the Paragon ......". I assume this is to access the "Boot capsule hidden partition".

    I have heard there can be problems using this because under certain conditions it can hose the partition table. I therefore want to get rid of it. I therefore opened Paragon 10.2, clicked on Manage Backup capsule and got a popup that said it did not have one or could not access it.

    How do I get rid of the bootup F6 Paragon message?

    Thank you.
    Capture.GIF
     
  2. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    Do the following:
    * right-click your Hard Disk and select 'update MBR' ,
    * apply changes
    The message tom press F6 will disappear.

    Then make sure that Backup Capsule is deleted:
    * search for Backup Capsule light-green partition. If it is not present, you don't need to do anything else.
    Otherwise, right-click Backup Capsule partition and select Delete. Apply changes. and it will be removed.
     
  3. Anderson2

    Anderson2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Posts:
    44
    Thanks for replying.
    I checked and there is no Backup Capsule light green partition. So that is not a problem
    Rather scared to update the MBR is case that makes the system unbootable. Are you sure?
     
  4. Anderson2

    Anderson2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Posts:
    44
    Anyone else think it is safe to update the MBR?
     
  5. Anderson2

    Anderson2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Posts:
    44
    Thank you Mech an. I put my courage in my 2 hands and did as you say. Boots up fine and without the F6.

    Thank you
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.