BOClean message from PSC

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by FanJ, Jul 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Quoting a message from Kevin McAleavey at 14 July 2003:
    [hr]
    A NOTE! First, a situation of RAMPANT piracy and MASS distribution of a
    very early release of BOClean 4.10 (001 build, please check yours and if
    you're still running the 001 build, BOClean has been on 004 for MORE than a
    year now) has resulted in the need to apply a "doomsday device" on the 001
    build to curtail the piracy. If you're still USING the 001 build, you need
    to contact:

    - PSC -

    And request a replacement copy of BOClean. If you're using the 002 build
    through the 004 builds, you will NOT suffer a problem. The later builds
    have a means of handling the piracy situation we've been placed into
    without BOClean "self-destructing." If the update causes your BOClean to
    commit suicide, send an email to upgrade@nsclean.com for your FREE
    replacement. We apologize for the necessity to take such a drastic step,
    but in the past two days, there are now four times as many pirated copies
    of BOClean out there and sales have dropped because "if I can get it for
    free, then why PAY for it?" We HAD no choice. For the very very few still
    using the 001 build however, we want to make it as painless as possible.
    You'll need to send either your order number for your original BOClean
    purchase (ANY version) or the email address you were using when you BOUGHT
    BOClean since we're not about to hand the pirates the LATEST copy.

    Builds 002, 003 and 004 will *NOT* be affected, and you can continue to
    use them in peace. Each of these later builds provided the ability to track
    down an INDIVIDUAL pirated copy and shut it down as soon as they contact
    our update server without the need to do a "mass kill" as we were forced to
    do with the 001 build.
     
  2. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    thats really strange i havent ever seen a pirated verstion of bo clean wow very strange

    i have seen a cool new anti pirating feature in some new programs alot of companys are doing.

    they put in a call home feature it sees if the serial is legit if not boom get disabled lots of companys have been doing that

    one company went to far there crashing operating system every time they connect to the net
     
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    It's very easy to see whether you have the latest build of BOClean.
    Double click on your BOClean icon near the clock, and the BOClean menu will pop up.
    At the top it should say: 4.10.004
    See screenshot:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. wizard

    wizard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    Europe - Germany - Duesseldorf
    Just clarifying all the facts but to me this looks like a malicious "trojan" attack done by an antitrojan company.

    wizard
     
  5. sakharg

    sakharg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Posts:
    62
    Hi Blaze,

    I too had not seen a pirated copy of BoClean at all (ever), but have seen it recently on some warez sites, and linked to in some forums. Very out of the blue......

    I have seen that call home feature in some products, but about crashing people's computers, wasn't that what a US Senator was proposing recently? It does have even legitimate users worried about possible misidentification errors leading to system crippling, etc....not to mention privacy advocates.....
     
  6. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    I would have thought the TDS thingie would discourage companies from taking this kind of approach.
    But then, what do I know? o_O
     
  7. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    lol the antipirating aproch that boclean is taking is a good one it just diables boclean nothing else thers nothing wrong with a company trying to protect itself from piraters it all depends on how they go about it.

    as for errors i seriousely doubt it you can tell the major difrence from people trying to get something for nothing to an application legitimently bought

    boclean isnt doing the crash systm thing that these other companys are doing

    its almost brand new other companys are just recently started doing the call home microsoft thing lol

    and the crash the pc thing is new to and its not like its on every software its just got started.

    if you have legal copy of boclean your ok if you dont have the up to date verstion you just e-mail them they look up your info i gather

    and just tell you to update to the new verstion its not that hard lol

    only people that should be upset are the ones that are pirating it lol

    cause they cant update it no more lol
     
  8. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    i to like the tds aproch it siply stops working if its an illigal license
     
  9. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I just downloaded BOClean From their web site today and mine shows 4.10..... What is the problem?
     
  10. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    look at fan j pic lol he shows you how to do it just open it up it will tell you
     
  11. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I did that and it shows 4.10...
     
  12. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    and you dowenloaded the newest boclean?

    i got a contact letter from them did the update and will look for yourself

    the only ones that do the 4.10..... are the old ones i think
     

    Attached Files:

  13. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi William,

    You said that you downloaded BOClean today from the PSC site, if I understood you right.
    In that case it should show what my screenshot showed.
    If it does not, than I would advise you to email PSC with your question and registration info.
    Usually PSC is very quick with answering support-questions but -given the circumstances today- it might take a little bit longer.

    BTW: you are aware that PSC does not give trial-versions of their programs (but have a very good money-back policy)?
     
  14. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I E Mailed PSC and got a reply from Nancy McAlevery. She said that I have 004. I don't understand but if she said I have it I guess I do.
     
  15. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    EASY WAY TO FIND OUT IS UPDATE IT IF IT GO BOOM THEN YOU HAVE THE WRONG ONE LOL
     
  16. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Does the Add/Remove show any version number, or in the registry, autostart, anywhere?
    Isn't there a help/about button unveiling the version?
     
  17. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Right after I downloaded and rebooted I updated and there wasn't a problem.
     
  18. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    then you have the right one congrats
     
  19. Loki

    Loki Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida, USA
    Are you running a WinXP system? If so switch to classic windows mode and you'll see the whole version number on BOClean. ;)

    Loki :cool:
     
  20. JPM

    JPM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Well I was using the old version I guess as it was nuked last night when I downloaded the update. I sent an email to receive the upgraded version of BOClean last night but as of now have not received a reply. I understand the reason for them wanting to kill unauthorized versions, but feel they went about this in the wrong manner. Why would they not contact their registered users telling them of the need for a new version. Make sure your paying customers are taken care of first then nuke the pirated versions. I now have a program I payed for but will not run so is of no use to me until they find the time to send me an updated version. I just feel this could have been handled in a more customer friendly manner. But it wasn't and I have to wait. How long has it taken others to receive the new version?
     
  21. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    will i really don't know what to say its kinda hard for me to respond to this but I'm a newbie to a beginner at this just like you.

    See JPM most actually all of what you just said makes perfect sense except for one major flaw now don't take this the wrong way because if this was any other software with the situation you describe id agree with you 100%

    Now JPM Buddy i want you to scoot up to the screen just a little more closer.


    ummmmmmmmmmm...........

    no scoot up just a tad more

    nahhhhhhhhhhhhh..................

    just a little more closer to the screen there Buddy

    are you ready?

    take a deep breath ok.

    now clear your mind and remember i didn't want this to be taken the wrong way.



    A NOTE! First, a situation of RAMPANT piracy and MASS distribution of a
    very early release of BOClean 4.10 (001 build, please check yours and if
    you're still running the 001 build, BOClean has been on 004 for MORE than a
    year now) has resulted in the need to apply a "doomsday device" on the
    001
    build to curtail the piracy. If you're still USING the 001 build, you need
    to contact

    And request a replacement copy of BOClean. If you're using the 002 build
    through the 004 builds, you will NOT suffer a problem. The later builds
    have a means of handling the piracy situation we've been placed into
    without BOClean "self-destructing." If the update causes your BOClean
    to
    commit suicide, send an email to

    yadah yadah blah blah lol i

    it goes on and on guess what i got an e-mail and a warning i find it strange you didn't

    what i find even more strange is the new update version has been out for almost an entire year i got my notice about the major update in my e-mail

    so basically you been walking around with an old version which if i remember correctly doesn't support the new reference file not 100% sure but i think thats the case.

    not sure but in the old builds don't you get a message sorry no longer supported when you do an update or was that the old v409 boclean

    either way the new ones have been out for like a year.

    blaze shrug shoulders see what I'm getting at

    I'm completely new to this but when a security company sends me an e-mail saying 3 times pleas update to the latest version of boclean within an entire year well i do it lol.

    if anything boclean is behind they should had discontinued all old versions 001 oo2 and oo3 i still don't know why they have not if where up to 004

    so if i got an e-mail and a warning and update notices then thats all on me not the company

    my bad for just being lazy or not reading especially on a product i love and use.

    consumers have a responsibility to and I'm just slowly realizing that.

    wow it sound so strange this stuff coming out of my mouth but its true
     
  22. JPM

    JPM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Well I take no offense Mr Blaze, I'm a bigger person than that :) But I honestly do not recall ever receiving an email telling me to upgrade to a newer version of BOClean. If they sent me one I do not remember it, or obviously I would have upgraded at that time. I did receive the usual update notices from them until about a month ago when my ISP upgraded their system. My email address changed at that time but supposedy any and all messages sent to my old address were to be fowarded to the new one until Novemer. But now that I think about this, I have not received any of the update notices since that time. I will have to wait until they reply to my upgrade request and have them update their records with my new address at that time.
     
  23. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    Loki I am running Windows XP Home SP1a. I don't know how to get to the classic window mode.
     
  24. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    hey you right i bet thats what it was it kinda hard for them to tell you about update notice when your e-maill addy changes.

    i went threw same thing sevral months back my frind fanj reminded me to e-mail them about my new e-mail adress so i can get the new notices.

    i made same mistake you did if it hadnt been for my frind telling me lol i wouldnt had doen it

    so i did same thing you did awhile back hey where only hueman we all make mistakes.

    i have to remember that omg i wonder if tds has my new e-mail adress


    .........blaze ponder smacks his owen forhead dohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    i think i just pulled a homer simpson i dont think tds and port explorer nor even worm guard same company has my new e-mail adress

    man that sucks no wonder the only update news i get is on this bord they dont even have my new addy lol
     
  25. Loki

    Loki Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida, USA
    Hi WilliamP,

    Right click on the desktop, click on Appearance, on the drop down window (Windows and buttons): select Windows classic style

    Hope that helps
    Loki :cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.