BOClean and NOD32

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by rothko, Jun 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rothko

    rothko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    UK
    Hi

    I'm toying with the idea of purchasing BOClean after reading positive reviews here on Wilders.

    I just want to ask anyone who uses BOClean and NOD32 how they work together. In particular can you have IMON/AMON and BOClean both working together at the same time monitoring, and what happens if you come across a threat that both NOD32 and BOclean recognise - which jumps in first!?

    thanks, lee
     
  2. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    BOClean does not have an http scanner. If it detects anything that NOD32 does, NOD32 would catch it first, BOClean pretty much only scans memory. The only way I could see them clashing is if you had something already in memory, and get an update for it by both at the exact same time.
     
  3. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    lee,

    NOD32 gets first crack at things, but there won't be a fight due to the way each works. I've been running this pair for some time and they are very stable together and, at least from my experience, highly recommended.

    Blue
     
  4. rothko

    rothko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    UK
    sorry Notok, i edited my post to remove the bit about http when i realised it wasnt relevant! just wanted to own up so people knew why you mentioned it in your reply, which i thank you for. :D

    thanks Blue, another glowing reference! i'm reaching for the wallet.... :D
     
  5. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    No problems here running NOD32 and BOClean together!
     
  6. leehigdon3

    leehigdon3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Plano, TX USA
    Yes, I use both together. No conflicts what-so-ever. Since I've never,ever been infected, I'm not certain which program would catch a trojan or worm, first. I would not worry about that though. You can exclude both programs from scanning each other, so that could reduce any possible problem with both programs finding an infection at about the same instant.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.