Blocking websites i don't want it too.

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by remycote, Jul 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. remycote

    remycote Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    ESET Smart Security 3.0

    When i type in certain sites it blocks me from entering and i know the site is safe how can i fix this?

    It's an honor for me that you're reading this :)
    Thanks,
     
  2. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    What are the addresses of the web sites being blocked?

    If they are being blocked when they pose no threat, then this could be a false positive alarm by the software, and would be treated as such by ESET.

    On the other hand, there may be a reason the sites are being blocked which is not apparent.

    You can send me the list of addresses via PM, if you would prefer not mention them in a public message.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  3. remycote

    remycote Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Posts:
    3
  4. ntclaw

    ntclaw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I am having the same problem. Went into advance setup excluded addresses and it still blocks the site. Been to the link I guess McAfee does it job. I am on the trail version here, it looks like I will uninstall and go back to my old anti-virus if I can't view sites I want tooo_O
     
  5. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    I checked with our virus lab and found out that the web site is located on a network which a point of origin for a significant amount of malware. As such, ESET Smart Security blocks access to this netblock, which would include web sites hosted on it.

    You could try adding the IP address(es) for the web site to the exclusion list, however, if that does not work then you will need to disable protection before visiting the site.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.