Blocking FTP 21 w/Zone Alarm

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Mudd, Aug 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mudd

Mudd Registered Member

I' not only new to the Forum, I'm new to Computers.

I have done a scan from Gibsons page and it indicates that my FTP Port 21 is open. None of the others are. I don't know what service to block to stop this. I don't have a FTP program installed on this PC.

My Machine is Host, networked by crossover with the wife. I have the free edition of Zone Alarm, just updated.

Running Win XP Home on both machines.

2. Phant0m

Phant0m Registered Member

Hey Mudd

Is it possible you have a router which has that port opened?

3. BlitzenZeus

BlitzenZeus Security Expert

In this configuration you should have a firewall on both machines if they are both on the internet.

Are you running a ICS(Interent Connection Sharing) configuration?

Here is a program that can show you which programs are listening on which port, try it on both computers to see if either has a program listening on this port if you need to.
    TCP View

An ICS config can complicate finding whch program is listening on a port as it redirects ports without showing them as listening.

If you don't find the program, make sure that alg.exe(Application Layer Gateway service) isn't allowed to be a internet server in ZA as a test, then re-scan.

4. LowWaterMark

LowWaterMark Administrator

Of course, the GRC scan result may just be wrong. Results from any online scan should be cross checked with a few other online scans. There are a number of other scanners listed in this thread under the heading "FIREWALL / SYSTEMS TESTS:"

https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=6341

5. Mudd

Mudd Registered Member

No router, just slow Dialup. We are far out in the country from a One-Horse Town and as of now this is all that is available.