Blocked - School/Gov/ISP

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by TerryWood, Dec 26, 2019.

  1. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    855
    Hi @ Wilders

    I have two computers, Dell laptop Win 10 version 1903. A desktop Win 10 version 1909

    Both Computers have SetupVPN browser addons, the laptop uses Opera and Firefox. The Desktop Uses Chrome and Firefox.

    For a very long time both PCs have been using SetupVPN with no problem, however the laptop is not connecting on either browser through the VPN. It passes the login stage but takes an enormous amount of time to tell me that I am being blocked by School/Gov/ISP. This happens on all the locations/countries I have tried.

    Yet, with the same login credentials on my Desktop, SetupVPN is working fine on Chrome and Firefox.

    I have uninstalled SetupVPN then reinstalled it with no joy. I have switched off all security software including firewall and antivirus - No joy.

    Windscribe VPN works fine on the laptop.

    Can anyone suggest how I might resolve the issue of SetupVPN not connecting.

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  2. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    9,196
    Well, I'm guessing that the desktop uses wired Ethernet and the laptop uses WiFi.

    And that different filtering/blocking methods might be used on Ethernet and WiFi.

    I'm also guessing that SetupVPN and Winscribe use different ports, and perhaps even different protocols (PPTP vs OpenVPN, for example; or perhaps OpenVPN in UDP mode vs TCP mode).

    So maybe there something about the SetupVPN configuration that lets the WiFi hotspot block it.

    The first step would be documenting how the SetupVPN and Winscribe configurations differ.

    VPN protocol: PPTP, OpenVPN, IKE, L2TP, Wireguard, etc
    VPN TCP/IP type: UDP, TCP
    VPN port: 443, 1194, etc
     
  3. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    855
    Hi Mirimir

    Both PCs Hard wired ie Ethernet. Laptop via Powerline adapters. Remember this was working fine a couple of weeks ago or less.

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  4. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    9,196
    I don't know "Powerline adapters". And I'm confused by "School/Gov/ISP". Is this all on your home Internet connection? Or is "Powerline" through a different ISP?
     
  5. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    855
    Hi Mirimir

    Powerline adapters are used where a direct Ethernet cable is not available ie it is in another room. TP Link have plug in adapters that "pair" with each other, one near and linked to the router, plugged into the electricity network. The other one of the pair is plugged in to the electricity network and into the laptop. The signal is transferred through the electricity cables as opposed to ethernet cable.

    Please see the attachment which will explain "school/gov/ISP". This message appears after I have logged in to the SetupVPN extension on Opera. It appears when I select a location, say Italy, which does not immediately connect it takes quite a while and at the end the error message appears as captured in the image.

    I use the same ISP for both PCs. The Desktop works with SetupVPN. The laptop doesn't.

    Terry
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.