Block Unblock

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rico, Feb 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,702
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Guys,

    Whats the deal with, often times if I want to copy a file to CD, I must select the file, then properties, then UN-Block before copying to CD. Why is this & why would info be missing, or the file not useable, unless I unblock?

    Thanks
    rico
     
  2. RipVanTinkle

    RipVanTinkle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Posts:
    102
    What do you mean by Unblock?
    Do you mean it's Read Only?

    Sounds like the file is being used by another process or something
     
  3. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,702
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Rip

    No! Often times when you download a program, if you try to copy to cd, you get an error, "confirm data stream loss" or something like that. Or you copy something to CD & try & use it later & she won't work. So now before copying a downloaded program to CD (back up copy) you need to highlight >the file> right click > properties > choose un-block > ok Then copy the file/program to CD. Note I've unblocked all in my download folder, otherwise I would have posted a pic.

    My question is why do they block?
     
  4. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,702
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi All,

    So why is the block unblock required?
     

    Attached Files:

    • tth.jpg
      tth.jpg
      File size:
      47.8 KB
      Views:
      199
  5. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    ive had this problem when downloading files with ie 6 sp2. all people have told me is that its a security "feature" of sp2.
     
  6. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,702
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello WSFuser,

    So are you saying that IE6 w/SP2 causes "unblock" requirement. And that without unblock, copying to CD is not reliable? Very interesting, I suppose then downloading the same file, as above with Firefox, I would not have to unblock, prior to copying to CD. If this is a security thing from M$, it seems to be not very well known, at least to me.

    Take care
    rico
     
  7. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.