Block all except my own router

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by vail, Jan 4, 2015.

1. vail

vail Registered Member

I would like to use any firewall on my Windows 7 computer where I can specify that it
    will work only with Belkin routers. When I was using XP this was extremely easy.
    I was using Kerio 2.1.5 with the BZ Kerio 2x Default Replacement rule set. All I had
    to do was enter 192.168.2.1 in the Router Configuration. Then my desktop computer
    would not get on the internet without a Belkin router. Same for my notebook.
    This is what I want to do with Windows 7. I don't care what firewall that I need.
    I would just prefer it is anything other than the built in firewall.
    Obviously I'm no expert in this area or I wouldn't have to ask how to do this :(
    Thanks for assistance.

2. Mayahana

Mayahana Banned

What are you trying to accomplish doing this? Essentially router brand has nothing to do with this, and you cannot specify a specific 'brand' of router from a desktop. You can however specify what desktops connect to the router from (some) routers. You are basically attempting to make a PC connect ONLY through the gateway? I don't see what the point is, as it would grab DHCP from the router anyway, and be on the same subnet as the rest of your home. Sounds to me like you just want to assign a static gateway?

There aren't any security advantages to doing this - by the way. I can see if you were segregating IP's on multiple branched subnets, but everything will be on the same subnet anyway.

3. vail

vail Registered Member

Actually I still have some XP computers. They are set up this way. And the Kerio 2.1.5 firewalls are password protected. So no one around messes with my own computers. If someone takes my XP
    notebook with them to another location it will not get on the internet unless there is a Belkin router