Blink Personal must be getting better

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by duke1959, May 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ximi

    Ximi Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Estern
    what about this AV's detection rate and speed ?
     
  2. Pseudo

    Pseudo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Posts:
    193
    Blink uses Norman.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,927
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I found what was blocking the install of blink so I think I will give it a run :thumb: I have a download/install guard and it falsely identified something in blink as malacious and just stopped it.
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Hmm, another suite.;)
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,927
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It is most certainly a suite :D I used it when I had XP Pro and liked it pretty well. I guess I will see how it runs with Vista. I think I will install it in a couple of hours and hope for the best.
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    I installed it on Vista last night and it worked fine.:thumb:
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,927
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    did you install the 4.01 version?? and did it convert to the free version
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    I installed the one in the forum and yes.
     
  9. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,927
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma


    Thanks :D :thumb: :thumb:
     
  10. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
  11. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Gave it a try yesterday on an XP system.
    Must say it is a more polished version then the last one.
    Seemed to work well and does run light even though the total ram usage shows at 123,000k.
    I just don't see anything special in this where it would be a must have or a replacement for what I currently use.
    For me, I will have to pass on this for now.
    For someone looking for a suite and free at that, it would probably be a very good choice. :cool:
     
  12. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,107
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    It is impossible to remove all remnants having used every conceivable solution. I would be very cautious if you want to uninstall.
     
  13. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Thanks for the warning but I used a Snapshot from EAZ-FIX to retore my system prior to installing Blink. :cool:
     
  14. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,107
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I have Acronis and could do the same thing, but the fact remains- it wants to stay on your hard drive. They even have users in their own forum complaining about the same thing, and no help was offered by support.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2008
  15. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    That alone says alot about Blink itself.
    If that is the case the program should be avoided, no matter how good it is.
    All software should be easy to uninstall by anyone.
    If not, should not be recommended.
    Thanks for sharing your findings. :)
     
  16. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,927
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Well I tried Blink 4.01 for about an hour and that was enough to show me I don't want it on my computer. It might run better on other computers but mine doesn't like it.
     
  17. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Given it is eEye, I'm guessing it was less about the AV and firewall and more about preventing exploits. From memory it was a very intrusive program and really sinks its hooks in.
     
  18. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,927
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    nope it wasn't about protection. I am running a quadcore comp and Blink really slowed my computer. I wouldn't have thought it possible but it did. It is possible that it just doesn't like something on my comp. But I do know it isn't going back on this box.:mad:
     
  19. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Blink bogged a Quad down? :blink: I was thinking yesterday that even NIS '04 couldn't bog this baby down, lol.
     
  20. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    This is enough.
    No thanks.
     
  21. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Norman is a mid tier AV. It is not as good as Antivir and KAV etc but it is on part with most of the others. If you have a look at the whole package, they AV is really not a major part of the suite. It focuses more on exploit prevention.
     
  22. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I know, Huangker.
    I don't like security suites anyway ;)
     
  23. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,927
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I wouldn't have thought it possible either:mad: . Nothing else I have used has even come close to straining the quad. It has to be an incomptability.
     
  24. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,160
    Location:
    UK / Pakistan
    Just curious what is this guard?

    Thanks
     
  25. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,927
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I was useing TMIS at the time and it falsly identified Blink during install as malacious. I have since gone back to NIS 2008. There are several apps on my comp that monitor installs but TMIS is the one that stopped it. The other ones didn't flag it at all. I eventually installed blink and found I didn't want it anyway :thumbd:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.