Blink Personal must be getting better

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by duke1959, May 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    After trying out so many different AV's, firewalls, HIPS, and antispyware programs, I decided to give the free Blink Personal Security Suite another try. So far I must say it's an improvement over the last two versions I tried, and runs surprisingly light despite it's Mem Usage, but this is due to some technology eeye Digital, the maker of Blink uses. I'd be interested to hear what anyone else who tries this newly released version has to say. It seems to be getting some well deserved recognition now too.

    http://www.marketwire.com/mw/release.do?id=861862
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    But it is still not Vista compatable. We were told that there would be a Vista version by the first of 2008. Looks as if they are a bit late.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 31, 2008
  3. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Have you tried it, I have. I installed it on Vista Home Premium sp1 or at least I tried to install it. it would get about 2/3 of the way and stop. Don't think it is ready for prime time.
     
  5. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    Windows XP here. I wonder why you had the trouble? eeye has a forum, but maybe it's not worth the trouble for you to post there. I also wonder if anyone else will have the same thing happen?
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    When I had XP I ran blink and kind of liked it. but they have really been struggling to get it Vista compatable and it is possible that something in my security in Vista just doesn't like blink?? Maybe after it has been out a while and had a few updates and upgrades I might try it again.
     
  7. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    For a free comprehensive security suite i can't complain. It runs very light on my system and does use a fair amount of ram but then again i have 3 gigs so it ain't nothing really. Only slight drawback is an incompatibility with sandboxie but i don't really miss sandboxie too much as i have vm's to cover for it.
    I'm definitely gonna try out this new vista version when i get some spare time.
     
  8. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Why would this have an issue with sandboxie? Seems strange that more and more security apps refuse to install with other security apps. Does blink have it's own sandbox?
     
  9. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
  10. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    I know that Blink uses a version of the Norman Antivirus which has a sandbox like feature and maybe this is why?
     
  11. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    I don't know how to show screenshots of security programs, but if anyone would like to show some of the new version so others can see there have been some changes to the GUI it would be nice. Thanks.
     
  12. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    The sandbox in Norman is part of their heuristics. I'm sure every other AV has some kind of emulation environment and it shouldn't effect it.
     
  13. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    UK
    Am I missing something here ? as eveytime I look at this free Av, I see this..............

    Regards Gordon
     
  14. Pseudo

    Pseudo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Posts:
    193
    There's different editions; only personal edition is free.
     
  15. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I don't know why, all i know is it won't let you install it if sandboxie is installed.
     
  16. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Just installed blink personal 4.0.1 on vista ultimate 32-bit with no problems. GUI looks pretty similar to the previous version as far as i can tell.

    The blink personal home screen.
     

    Attached Files:

    • bp1.jpg
      bp1.jpg
      File size:
      93.2 KB
      Views:
      12
  17. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Options screens.
     

    Attached Files:

    • bp2.jpg
      bp2.jpg
      File size:
      42.6 KB
      Views:
      884
    • bp3.jpg
      bp3.jpg
      File size:
      56.2 KB
      Views:
      894
    • bp4.jpg
      bp4.jpg
      File size:
      40.2 KB
      Views:
      899
  18. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    "Registration requires a valid corporate email address"

    What's the hell?

    I want to try but I think it won't be easy...
     
  19. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    All you need to do is give them your persoanl E-mail address to receive the free 1 year license. This link should work.

    I will tell you my internet speed is faster now than it was with either OA or Comodo and my PC speed hasn't changed. It does use quite a lot of memory, but if you figure in what some firewalls, AV's, and antispyware's use, it isn't that much more. The interface is nicer than the version I tried over a year ago and I like it. So far Blink is running quite well. Time will tell I suppose.
     
  20. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
  21. mrhero

    mrhero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Ankara , Turkey
  22. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    Thank you.
     
  23. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    UK
    Exactly, It is not free, I am in the Uk.


    Regards Gordon
    __________________
    Gordon
     
  24. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    The link I provided clearly states it is for Blink Personal and may NOT be used within in commercial, corporate, or government environments.

    Sorry it's only for US as it runs lighter than any combination of AV's, firewalls, and HIPS I have used together. The eEye forum is slow to answer questions though, and I'm not sure Blink Personal has "Self Protection" but again I find it runs better than any combos I used and for an all in one security solution, better than AVG 8.0 Internet Security Suite and McAfee Security Suite which I've also used. I'm sure if someone had an extra license to give it would work for someone in a different country, but I don't know why eEye doesn't offer it outside the US.
     
  25. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I'm not from the U.S and i had no trouble registering and downloading it. Upon installation you simply enter no license number which turns it into the free personal version.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.