Blank Screen Boot after Partition Lock

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Rofolino, Jun 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rofolino

    Rofolino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    [solved] Blank Screen Boot after Partition Lock

    Hi all,

    I tried to clone the HD from my Laptop to a bigger new one. I resized the destination partitions and started the job. It said something about locking partition C: D: and wanted a reboot. The reboot started fine with the BIOS and the Windows loading Screen, but after that splash screen it just showed a blank screen. No matter how long i waited, the User Logon didnt appear. No blinking Cursor, no Message, nothing than just a blank screen. The same happens when i choose to start in safe mode.

    I thought perhaps a succesfull clone would do the thing, so i cloned the HD from the boot-up Startup Recovery Manager. Again resized and set everything up and all went fine. So i swapped the Drives but still the same problem.

    I connected the HD via USB to another Laptop and run a CHKDSK on C: and it doenst found any errors. It is also possible to explore the files and folders. Everything seems fine, but i just cant boot anymore.

    Help?

    Thinkpad R60
    XP Pro SP2
    True Image Home 2009

    Thank You!
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2009
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Rofolino,

    Due to geometry issues, IBM laptops require a "reverse" clone. New HD installed internally, old HD in the USB enclosure. Boot from the TI CD and perform the clone. Let us know the outcome.
     
  3. Rofolino

    Rofolino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Brian,

    Thanks for your fast answer. I tried it the way you suggested. New Drive in Laptop, Old one at USB. Went clone process with TI CD. No errors. Restartet without CD and USB. Same blank screen.

    Is it posibble that the HD partitions are still locked from the previous operation which didnt finish? Would there be a way to unlock these?

    Thanks again.
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Rofolino,

    Now it's getting difficult. I don't know what those locked partitions mean but I would delete all partitions from the new HD before cloning again. Let TI work on a blank HD.

    Fingers crossed. Again.
     
  5. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    If you are still being stuck at the splashscreen after redoing the reverse clone, I would start checking your drive letters.

    Use the free "paragon rescue kit 9.0 express" bootcd. Bootup with it and verify your drive letters.
    Windows xp hanging or rebooting at the splashscreen is a problem encountered on restored drives when the drive letters don't match up. The "rescue kit" can change the drive letters and fix the problem.
     
  6. Rofolino

    Rofolino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I think you had to cross your toes too Brian ^^ Thanks for your fast responses.

    And thank you jony for the nice software. It didnt help, but has some nice features i was searching for a long time.

    I bought a Support Ticket from Acronis. I have to say that this is the biggest crap Idea a company ever had. "Hey, our Software stopped working his OS. Let us ask for money if he wants help!" Sure is the first and the last time i bought Acronisware.

    Ill let you know the results.
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Rofolino,

    As TI has failed I'd try something different. I use CopyWipe for DOS.

    Same technique. Old HD in USB enclosure. New HD mounted internally. Boot from the CD.

    Edit... Make sure you press F6 to "View Partitions" to confirm each HD. You don't want to copy the empty HD.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2009
  8. Rofolino

    Rofolino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    And here now the Results of the Support Incident:

    First the Supporter wanted me to use the Repair Console (R) from the Windows CD and use the following commands:

    FIXMBR C:
    FIXBOOT C:
    BOOTCFG /rebuild

    But these also didnt help me, the screen was still blank. Then he wanted me to press F8 at Bootup and choose instead of the Safe Mode the (i hope my english translation is close enough) "Last valid Configuration"

    And after the next, somewhat millionth, bootup i finally could enter the beloved Praiseland. Everything works fine. I can Logon and restart without problems.

    So it looks like that another day is safed.

    The Problem has occured due to the fact that the Sata Controller drivers werent standart. So if you had to separately install the Storage Drivers (like with F6 with the Windows CD) DONT USE ACRONIS OUT OF WINDOWS, better you start Acronis with the Acronis loader at bootup or with the emergency CD or the TI CD itself, because these are all runing under a Linux Kernel which doesnt have any problems with detecting the Sata Controller.

    Again, if the Windows install CD doesnt know your Mass Storage Drivers, better use the CD.

    I thank again Brian for his fast helps and whish a nice day.

    Case closed
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.