Blackspear's settings

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by DanL, Aug 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DanL

    DanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    I've been using NOD 32 AV for several years now, with Blackspear's settings.
    Very happy with the setup. Currently using 2.7.

    I'm considering the complete security suite and wondering if Blackspear's settings can be imported the same as on the AV 2.7 AND 3.0.

    Currently using NOD 32 2.7 AV with ZA firewall, Spysweeper for spyware only.
    Just upgraded one of my computers today to NOD 32 3.0 AV and like the new interface.
    Would like to ditch the other programs if ESET SS can do a good job with it all.
     
  2. norky

    norky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Lithia, FL
  3. DanL

    DanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    Thanks for the reply.........but that thread is for the stand alone AV program.
    I was wondering if you can do the same with the security suite.
     
  4. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    Until the official answer arrives Know that once you Set-up ESS to your satisfaction you can Save via Export/Import back Your settings which are Saved as an .xml file. If you don't select Automatic Firewall and instead choose Policy-based or Interactive, there's rules, etc. to do so you may be slightly busy anyway.

    Whether BS's xml 3.0 AV settings can "mesh" with ESS as a "partial" setup is unknown to me. BS should post that somewhere as this ESS Forum doesn't believe in FAQ or How-To Sticky's yet.
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I have never done it but I think it should be possible to import the NOD32 v3 settings into ESS . ESS will only read the settings for the modules that are in the NOD32 xml . All others shouldn't be changed .

    If something goes wrong by accident , you can very easily revert the settings to the default ones - from the Advanced setup tree -> Default button
     

    Attached Files:

  6. DanL

    DanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    Thanks for the replies!

    Maybe Blackspear will come up with some tweaks for eset SS.......hint. ;)
     
  7. norky

    norky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Lithia, FL
    the av portion is the same. use his settings for eav in ess.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.