Blackspear's Famous Settings

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Zane-O, Oct 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zane-O

    Zane-O Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Hi,

    I'm a new member, just recently got NOD32 and started playing with it. I've used this forum to help out with my very frustrating experiences with setting up and using the mirror properly.


    Anyway, I saw mention of BSFS (Blackspear's Famous Settings). Is there an .xml file around somewhere that just has all the 'best' settings? If so, that would be really nice to have.

    If not, does someone have an .xml file that they consider to be 'good' default settings?

    I realise I will have to change notification and user/pass settings myself.



    Ta muchly.



    Zane-O.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  3. Zane-O

    Zane-O Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    I've done searches on BSFS and on Blackspears famous settings, but all I get is the post that I found the reference to in the first place.

    Thanks for the link, but I was not able to find what I'm looking for in there.
     
  4. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    I don't think there is an XML settings file available - although it's a good idea...
     
  5. pc-support

    pc-support Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    285
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    Zane-O

    If you email me at richard dot burt at mac dot com then I can email you a reg file that contains all of his settings.

    :D
     
  6. Zane-O

    Zane-O Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Thanks Richard (pc-support).

    I used the reg file which made a couple of sensible changes.

    I made a couple of changes after 'installing' the new settings:
    - I changed the UN/PW back to my one
    - I turned off the EMON -> Environment -> Integration with email client boxes. I don't like having NOD32 in the Outlook menu/taskbar.
    - I changed the server settings back to our internal NOD32 server (http)
    - I then used the .xml file I have on the NOD32 'server' to re-write my notification settings


    Thanks again!



    Zane-O
     
  7. Yoshman

    Yoshman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Posts:
    44
    Hi,

    is it possible to use this regfile for installation/ configuration of new installed nod32 versions? because it is very exhausting to configure it again and again for every install...
    so it would be nice if there is a .reg/ .xml config which i can use automatically and then perhaps just changing username:pass...

    regards
    steffen
     
  8. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    You can create an xml (nod32.xml) file if you have the admin tools.
    And then use it when you install Nod32.

    You can use the xml file during the install process of a standard client.
    When you install Nod32, first it unpack the files. At this stage, stop the install process, put the nod32.xml file (the name is important) in the extract directory (usually c:\program files\eset\install\), and execute the setup.exe application. The settings of the .xml file will be used then.
     
  9. Zane-O

    Zane-O Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    I'm still not sure if there is an easy way to create the required nod32.xml file.

    Surely, there is a way to export the settings from a running client installation, and take that config file?

    The alternative is to manually go through and specify all the non-default settings in the config editor, but surely I can 'pull' the explicit settings from a client, or client config file?

    I have the admin tool / configuration editor - I just want to know if I can take the existing settings from a client installation somehow - via .xml, not via reg.


    Thanks!


    Zane-O
     
  10. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    you can request a machine's installation settings from the remote administration console - when they have downloaded, you can edit them and save them to an XML file using the configuration editor.
     
  11. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    Procedure for grabbing the configuration:

    1. open your Remote administration console
    2. enter any password required
    3. either double-click, or select Request Configuration from the right-click menu of the client you want to get the configuration of. If you double-click, their will be a tab marked "configuration"

    After clicking the configuration tab, you can request or refresh - if the RA service has been running for a while, it will normally have the most up-to-date configuration already... you can then:

    a. view the config
    b. save the config (and edit it using the configuration editor)
    c. setup a new task with the configuration (like push to another machine)

    If you select option b, and check the option "Then Run the Configuration Editor to edit the file" - you'll be promted for a local name for the xml file - you can call it anything, but I like to make folders for each of my configs, then call them all nod32.xml - but that's just me.

    hth

    Greg
     
  12. Zane-O

    Zane-O Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Sorry - I should have been more specific...

    I do not have Remote Administration module.

    I do have the admin module for mirroring / configuration editor.

    Is there a way to get a config file into the config editor without using RA?


    Thanks again.


    Zane-O
     
  13. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    then no - I think you do not have the ability to do what you are wanting - you need the enterprise edition with RA to accomplish what you are trying to attempt...
     
  14. Zane-O

    Zane-O Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Oh... stink.

    Oh well, a definitive answer is better than no answer. I guess I'll just have to use the registry, or create a fully populated .xml file myself.

    Note: If anyone already has a fully populated .xml file, I'd love to have it.

    Thanks.


    Zane-O
     
  15. sagittarius

    sagittarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    me tooo ... please :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.